Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2023 · Indoor Sports - Next Step

JayRooney

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Indoor Sports - Next Step

Hey all, first post...

I am a sports photographer in the North Atlanta area, do a lot of freelance work for local paper covering High School sports. I am using 2 Canon 1D Mark IVs with Canon 400 2.8, 70-200 2.8 and Sigma 130 1.8 for my sports work. My outdoor product is pretty good however, indoor - mainly basketball, is not up to my standards - still too much grain.

I know my Mark IVs are a little old, however, I don't want to drop $5-6K on a new body to capture the image I want at lower ISO/reduced grain.

Any Canon body upgrades you suggest - used on a $1500 budget?

Feb 18, 2023 at 11:26 AM
rdalrt
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Indoor Sports - Next Step

Hey there, welcome to FM.

First off, what ISO's are you shooting at? What is your workflow/post processing? Can you post some examples here?

I was always fine with my 1D IV up to 6400-8000 as long as I could get proper exposure (ETTR) and with a bit of noise reduction in post (especially for newsprint/social media).

Does your upgrade budget include selling the 1D IV's or keeping them? With $1500 you are getting into 1DX II territory. Or with a bit more (sell a 1D IV) you could move into mirrorless with an R6. I can't speak to an R7 or R8 as I have no experience with them.

Or another option I would consider is, sell one of your 1D's and with your budget grab two original 1DX bodies and start using the other 1D IV for a remote camera. As a sports guy, I like using remotes whenever I can. Hard to beat the bang for buck upgrade that an original 1DX provides.

Just my thoughts.

Feb 18, 2023 at 12:03 PM
JayRooney

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Indoor Sports - Next Step

Thanks for the quick response.