Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2023 · protocol for portraits?

Dirtmedic

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · protocol for portraits?

My background is as a paramedic and in that field there is a protocol to be memorized and practiced to make sure everything gets covered on an emergency call. I retired due to an on the job injury and am trying to turn photography into a profession. My goal is to do photography for Fire Departments, EMS, Law Enforcement, etc. Yesterday I did a photoshoot for a local Fire Department and overall it went great. While I captured images I am proud of, I also made a lot of mistakes. Is there a checklist you go through in your head or have written down of what you check for before you press the shutter? There were a couple of times my wife caught an unwanted shadow falling across someone's face or needed to adjust someone's bunker gear jacket. I was concentrating too much on the technical stuff and missed it. I also used the live view function and screwed up the focus on some of them. Fortunately I got enough shots and fixed that issue, but I still repeatedly forgot to adjust my focus points before the next shot.

I have noted I need to check for the edges of my frame to make sure it is appropriate, I need to check my focus points to make sure the camera is focused appropriately, I need to check the subject for anything out of place, I need to check for shadows where they don't belong and adjust accordingly, etc. What do you guys use for a list to make sure you are getting consistently good shots? As I spend today editing, I realized if I had taken more care yesterday, it would be saving me time during the editing process.