New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2022 · My R6II Impressions

leftymgp
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · My R6II Impressions

First some background, I’ve been shooting with an original 5D for the last 11-12 years or so. That camera has been great. It’s traveled the world with me and has captured some really great shots over the years. (Check out my Flickr page if you’re curious). But it has some limitations and I’ve finally decided to get something newer. Read on for details.

So I mention the 5D because that’s the perspective of where I’m coming from. The 5D pretty had everything I needed from a camera. The 12.8mp sensor was adequate for my needs. I found myself mostly shooting things that were stationary, so the basic autofocus system wasn’t really a drawback. The review LCD was terrible, so I pretty much never used it except for the histogram. I found myself using that camera more like it shot film; I’d take the shots and then I’d see what I got later. But I didn’t really mind that part of it.

The things I found really limiting: First, the high ISO performance. I could notice noise at 400. 800 was very noisy, and >= 1600 was almost unusable. I found myself putting the camera away once the sun started going down. Indoors, a flash was pretty much a necessity.

Second, while the center point AF point in the 5D is great, the other AF points were not very accurate. Like many, I would use the center point to focus and then recompose. This works until you’re working with a really narrow depth of field and you lose the precise focus once you recompose.

I’d been eyeing the 6D series for a few years. I almost sprang at the original 6D when it first came out. The 6DII was tempting, but it seemed like a marginal upgrade. I was hoping Canon would release a really extraordinary 6DIII as a sendoff to the series, but I finally gave up on waiting for that.