Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2022 · Laserjet printer recomendations?

Nightdiver13

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Laserjet printer recomendations?

This is probably a long shot to get traction here, but hoping some folks have experiences (positive or negative) with using laser printers for color photos. I'm a middle school teacher and would like to convince my district to purchase a color laserjet capable of tabloid (11x17") prints. Bonus for duplex (dual sided) ability.

I've looked around a little online but hard to gauge the level of quality of the prints and hoping to get opinions from a proper group of photographers. I know the quality will never be near inkjet levels, but the cost per print outweighs the quality question.

Any thoughts on specific models that are able to print above average color photos?

Dec 29, 2022 at 09:26 PM
JimboCin
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Laserjet printer recomendations?

I have an HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw
https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-color-laserjet-pro-m454dw

I am totally happy with it for general color printing. Of course it is 8.5 x 11 (or legal) but that should not impact my answer to your question.

I think it comes down to what you are looking for.

I have never used my printer to print photos, so I just tried it - on regular printer paper. To me the quality was OK - I guess I would be happy to use it for middle school color photos.

Here is what I suggest you do. Get some images you are interested in and put them on a thumb drive. Get some paper of the type you would intend to use for the photos (regular copy paper or whatever). Find a store that sells printers (Best Buy, Office Depot, MicroCenter, etc.) and that will help you print them - and make your decision for yourself.