New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

How long does it take to import ...

RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How long does it take to import ...

So, I'm new to using LR.

Got the M1 with a pretty nice configuration.

Seems to me like the import process is kinda slow. I suspect it is just my unfamiliarity with what all is happening during the import process in LR, that makes it seem like that.

Which just makes me curious what others are experiencing (files / size / time).

I haven't timed anything yet, just seat of the pants waiting stuff. Wondering if import preference settings, config, etc. come in to play. So, like the other stuff with the new rig, would be welcome to hear what others are experiencing / and how they are achieving it ... to get a sense of normal / realistic expectation.

For discussion sake, let's say my SD cards are 170 MB/s and my files are DNG (24MP or 40 MP). What is a reasonable time to expect for importing say 100 or 500? Is the card a bottleneck, and would it make sense to get a faster card (even though my camera can't harness the extra speed). It's not like I'm shooting events, or am in a massive hurry to meet a journalistic deadline, etc. Just wondering if the card is an issue, or is it just some things that LR is doing behind the scenes.

Also, while I see the import status bars (two of them), I don't see a file count of how many have been imported, the same way I used to with Bridge. I expect it is there somewhere, just not sure where to see it, or how to find it.