Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2022 · Caution to all Flickr photographers capturing images of girls sports - f...

eyal
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Caution to all Flickr photographers capturing images of girls sports - found two likely pedophiles in past week

I do NOT write this lightly and have informed Flickr of both instances but am concerned this is a much bigger problem than I anticipated so wanted to share with others who may have similar photos on Flickr.

I am primarily a landscape photographer but began to capture high school football last year and added high school cheer this year as my daughter is on the JV team. I post images to Flickr and share them with the team/parents. Until now I did have 'hide your stuff from public searches' set to NO but just changed that.

Anyway, last week, I noticed a number of notifications of someone 'favoriting' images of the cheer team but found it odd that I did not recognize the last name but, even more so, that they were favoriting multiple different girls. I figured a parent/relative would only like their own child's photos. I clicked the user and found their favorites filled with preteen/teen girls from various sporting events with some incredibly obvious choices that made it clear to me this was a pedophile.

I immediately reported the user to Flickr via the Report form and nothing happened for 24 hours. I then sent a DM via Twitter to Flickr Help and, again, nothing happened. I sent a strongly worded and long email/report with a screenshot of this user's favorites and advised Flickr I expected them to relay this information to authorities rather than just banning the account. The account is now banned but I received nothing more than a 1 sentence reply from Flickr and nothing about their plans.