Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              7       8       end

Swap Leica M11 for Hasselblad X2D? SL2-S? Or back to Sony mirrorless?

ArchnemeSwiss

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Swap Leica M11 for Hasselblad X2D? SL2-S? Or back to Sony mirrorless?

I got a Leica M11 and Voigtlander Ultron 35mm f2 v2 last week. I'm new to rangefinders but not new to photography. It's been decades since I shot with a manual focus camera. I love the size of the M system and the colors coming out of the M11 are just spectacular. My motivation for the purchase was to get a super-compact system with very high image quality in a well-built package that I could take everywhere with me.

That said, I am struggling with my eyeglasses and the 35mm framelines in the viewfinder being hard to see. And of course I'm missing a TON of shots of people as they move and I can't compensate fast enough with the manual focus lenses. I've had the M11 for about a week and am considering jumping ship while I can recoup my money for body, lens, and accessories.

There are four options I'm exploring:

1. Keep M11, hone rangefinder focusing skills, accept imperfect viewfinder picture and lower hit rate in exchange for small high quality system
  2. Swap for Hasselblad X2D, accept higher size/weight in exchange for image stabilization, MF sensor, autofocus.
  3. Try a Leica SL2-S. Accept a higher size/weight in exchange for good EVF, AF on some lenses, ability to use small M lenses with fewer compromises than on other systems.