New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Skinny photographer wants your opinion on 600mm f4 IS II

tetsu

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Skinny photographer wants your opinion on 600mm f4 IS II

Hey there folks, Ive been shooting wildlife (birding and animals mostly) for the past 12 years and I want to buy a 600mm f4, a used one cause the new one is way over what I can pay. Even used is a very steep price for me.

Im about 5'6.54feet tall and I weight around 116lbs. I currently have an R6 that I use with the Sigma 150-600mm and I just bought the new Canon RF 800mm f11. The difference in focus accuracy, speed and tracking of the 800mm versus the Sigma is just amazing, also the stabilization of the 800mm when doing video versus the Sigma just hand holding is amazing too.

So, I decided that probably a used 600mm f4 IS II will be my best bet, Im in Latin America so renting is not an option, but Im worried about the weight. Currently I can hand hold the Sigma 150-600mm with the R6 the whole day without much issue.

I was also considering the older 600mm f4 IS but is much heavier and I dont know about the AF capabilities given that is a design from 1999.

I will be testing the R7 this weekend with the RF 800mm f11 too, but I mostly want to use the R7 with the 600mm.

I just saw an auction on ebay where the 600mm f4 IS II was sold for 5800$ great price and trusted seller.

Care to share your opinions regarding the 600mm, hand holding it? carrying it with you on a trip? walking with it for long periods of time?

Thank you!

Aug 05, 2022 at 01:48 PM
garyvot
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Skinny photographer wants your opinion on 600mm f4 IS II