New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2022 · Shutter speed troubles

DanielScott
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Shutter speed troubles

I have some experience shooting in studio, but the majority of my work is done in available lighting. In the past when I've shot in studio I was able to use a shutter speed of 1/200th sec with no issues, using an original Canon 5D. A few months ago I upgraded to a 5D MKIII, and this week I started buying some strobes and modifiers and today I got to use that new lighting gear for the first time. The problem I'm having is that when I set the camera to 1/200th sec it captures part of the shutter door on the side of the image. When I set it to 1/160th it also still captures a portion of the shutter. This wasn't the case with my old camera, and I'm lost on why it's doing this with my new (to me) camera. From what I've read this shouldn't be happening at 1/200th sec and especially not at 1/160th sec, so I'm wondering what I might be doing wrong. I highly doubt this is an issue with the gear and am pretty certain it's an error on my part. Could anyone tell me why this could be happening and how to fix it? I'm fine shooting at 1/125th sec, but I often use a 135mm lens so I prefer shutter speeds just a touch faster to avoid motion blur, and figuring out how I can speed the shutter up a bit would be really helpful, if I can.

Jul 21, 2022 at 10:02 PM
Zenko

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Shutter speed troubles

That’s probably because you’re exceeding your camera’s sync speed.

Jul 21, 2022 at 10:08 PM
runamuck
• • • • • •
[X]
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Shutter speed troubles

Sync speed explained.
https://www.adobe.com/creativecloud/photography/hub/guides/learn-about-flash-sync-speed

Jul 21, 2022 at 11:38 PM
DanielScott
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Shutter speed troubles

Zenko wrote:
That’s probably because you’re exceeding your camera’s sync speed.