Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2022 · Why did I buy a GoPro when I could have got an M6 - ultralight backpacking

little tern

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Why did I buy a GoPro when I could have got an M6 - ultralight backpacking

I bought a GoPro Hero 10 for backpacking. My current camera is a Canon 5D Mark IV - and there's no way I'm lugging that boat anchor into the mountains.

I've been testing the GoPro doing some overnight timelapse stills and not so happy with the results (not a big surprise I guess) although videos have been fun, especially the horizon stabilization feature.

This morning, I realized with all of the accessories I bought, I could have picked up a refurb. Canon M6 Mark II.

Now I'm torn. I'm a photographer at heart (not videographer) but I do use video recording on my cell phone a lot for a few hobbies and I really like making timelapse videos, but those are always from stills.

For backpacking, I go ultra ultra light and reserve all the extra weight for food and anything that makes sleeping more comfortable--I carry 2 down sleeping quilts, no joke--so camera gear has to take a backseat in the weight department.

It looks like an M6 kit will weigh about 1/2 lb more than the GoPro kit (currently GoPro kit is about 8 oz with the accessories, extra batteries, cables etc.). Doesn't sound like much, but I'm going for a sub-20 lb pack and that includes a tent, 2 sleeping quilts, insulated sleeping mat, camp kitchen, food, water filtration, clothing...

Oh, and throw in the EF-M 22mm f/2 STM lens (I can't tell how much that lens weighs on the Canon site) and an extra battery, charge cable, and possibly dummy battery with USB to power bank to power overnight timelapse.