Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro World | Join Upload & Sell

Which flash for a macro beginner?

betinski

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Which flash for a macro beginner?

Hello. I have the Sony A7R4 and recently bought a used Sony 90mm to try my hand at macro. I've never used a flash before and would like to get an easy to use, lightweight flash. Godox and Sony keep coming up in my search. I'd appreciate any advice on what to buy and/or helpful sites about macro photography. Thanks!

Jun 26, 2022 at 04:12 PM
e6filmuser
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Which flash for a macro beginner?

betinski wrote:
Hello. I have the Sony A7R4 and recently bought a used Sony 90mm to try my hand at macro. I've never used a flash before and would like to get an easy to use, lightweight flash. Godox and Sony keep coming up in my search. I'd appreciate any advice on what to buy and/or helpful sites about macro photography. Thanks!

I am not going to recommend one

Of you use manual flash, you are going to have to do calculations, taking into account magnification, aperture and ISO.

Far better to use through the lens (TTL) metered flash which controls the exposure. One which is diffused is best.

Harold

Jun 27, 2022 at 06:38 AM
Ripolini
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Which flash for a macro beginner?

What about a LED?
https://amzn.to/3zxjK31

Jun 27, 2022 at 10:27 AM
e6filmuser
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Which flash for a macro beginner?

Ripolini wrote:
What about a LED?
https://amzn.to/3zxjK31

You need flash to freeze movement. LEDs are OK for illumination for framing and focusing. I use LEDs for this purpose for high magnification when I don't have sunlight.

Harold

Jun 27, 2022 at 11:20 AM
Ripolini
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Which flash for a macro beginner?

e6filmuser wrote:
You need flash to freeze movement.

I never use flash in macro anymore

Jun 27, 2022 at 11:28 AM
betinski