New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       5       end

Canon 5DRs Recommendations

Tim Carpenter
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon 5DRs Recommendations

I had an original 5D many years ago and absolutely loved that camera. The color and dynamic range were quite nice. That camera was replaced by what I've been using for several years, a 6D Mark I. The 6D has been a great camera (images are not quite like the 5D were), but the low light performance has been great.

I have not been thrilled with the 6D for landscapes. Image size doesn't support a lot of cropping and generally I'm not pleased with the dynamic range. I was thinking that maybe I should be looking at the R5, but that becomes a cascading series of upgrade activities. I already have the EF 24-105L F4, 80-220 F2.8, and 24-70 2.8 (which doesn't get much use). I came across posts on the 5DRs that state that this is a great camera for the price right now. I expect my work with it would be some nature photography when hiking (handheld) and landscape work on a tripod. I'd also like to try some night sky photography. If I'm shooting on a tripod for low light conditions, do the ISO limitations matter? Should I just bite the bullet and switch to the R series (I'm hesitant because I've not been shooting as much as I would like and am trying to get back out there...5Drs is a lower risk financially). I would like to try to do some bird photography as well (something I have no experience with but am intrigued by).

Finally, if the 5DRs is the way to go, any hesitation with buying refurbished from Canon vs new? Canon has them on and off for $1199.

Appreciate the wisdom of y'all.

May 10, 2022 at 08:54 AM
Peter Figen
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon 5DRs Recommendations