New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Fuji Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2022 · Problem with X100F aperture ring

plasticbath
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Problem with X100F aperture ring

Hi friends, having a weird issue with an X100f I just purchased from a member of the forum and I can’t tell if I’m missing something or if there is a problem with the camera. I’ve been using fujis for over 10 years so I’m normally well versed but this one has me stumped.

When the camera is switched to Manual Focus mode everytning operates as it should. When switched to S or C the aperture ring seems to half disengage. Essentially the ring moves to different apertures and the digital readout represents the correct aperture setting, but the aperture isn’t actually changing. The light meter doesn’t move and the exposure doesn’t change in live view (preview exp in manual mode is set to the correct setting). Even though the screen says the camera is set to F11, it is not actually shooting at F11. When you spin the aperture ring the screen sort of flickers as if it’s about to look darker or lighter but doesn’t. Even more curious - WHILE the camera is focusing the screen appears as though it’s stopping down to the intended aperture, but once it’s found focus it goes back to what I assume is f2.

Any ideas? I can attach a video if my description is too messy. In the photos you can see the aperture is set to f2 and f11 with no change in exposure.

Update: now I’ve realized that stopping down from f2 onward is actually only affecting the white balance? F2 is the coolest and as you stop down the WB gets warmer. I am stumped. Photos added.

Apr 30, 2022 at 07:43 PM
revhappy
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Problem with X100F aperture ring