Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Micro Four Thirds Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2022 · Why has noise become so noisy?

Sagar
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Why has noise become so noisy?

I understand FF sensors give super clean images at ridiculously high ISO which is all good. But I keep wondering why so much noise about noise? Why do people keep beating m43 and other similar formats just because they don’t match few stops of noise?

If you look at any of the most famous photographs be it street/documentary or artistic in last century, even from last decade would probably be discarded by todays crowd just because of too much noise ;-).

similar thing for megapixel race, remember Nikon lunched 6Mp and 10-12 Mp cameras? Or Dynamic range and the list goes on.

By profession I am an engineer so I do appreciate technological advancement and all that, but sometimes I think in pursuit of achieving technical perfection are we loosing soul of photography? Isn’t photography about the aesthetics, the art, the story? When did it become all about noise and megapixels?

Just curious about what this group thinks

Feb 22, 2022 at 09:38 PM
johnvanr
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Why has noise become so noisy?

We’ve long lost sight of the image because of the focus on technical IQ.

Feb 22, 2022 at 09:51 PM
fadeslayer
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Why has noise become so noisy?

The gear before the content. Forums, YouTubers, all pushed it towards focusing on technical aspects, which are a great tool to get the content rendered in a better way, but there must be content in the first place.