Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2022 · Shooting in low light- what to adjust?

DGNikon

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Shooting in low light- what to adjust?

I'm pretty new to all of this so any tips would be appreciated. I shoot with a crop sensor camera if that makes a difference- Nikon D5500. With good light I can take a great pic, no so much when there isn't good light.

For example, I was shooting tonight around the golden hour before sunset. The sun was setting and it was hard to find light. I probably should have gotten out sooner. My question is which do you pro's typically sacrifice first ISO, Shutter Speed or Aperture in order to achieve a ---0--- meter reading? I know it can depend on various factors, but in general, say shooting non-moving things like trees, mountains, landscapes. Is there a generally thought of way to do it?

I'm currently reading a book that was recommended to me in here. It is called Understanding Exposure. It's great, but he gives countless examples of shooting at tiny apertures like f/22. He is not a big fan of what I thought was the most popular- F8. I tried smaller shutter settings like he recommends but then my meter was really shooting under exposure. I had to either bump my ISO way up like 20000 (noisy) or slow my shutter way down (shaky.) Even when I tried to find a happy medium between the three, my meter was shooting under exposed which was a little frustrating. I've heard it is better to be slightly over exposed so there is less noise in the final edited image.

Thanks.

Feb 21, 2022 at 08:04 PM
LeeRatters
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Shooting in low light- what to adjust?

Neither. Use a tripod.