Username  

FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro World | Join Upload & Sell

Using two lens on my Nikon D5500

DGNikon

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Using two lens on my Nikon D5500

Sadly, just reversing my nifty fifty doesn't work- aperture is closed and stays closed even if set open in camera. Power off- it closes up.

I talked to a lens pro the other day. He said that I could reverse mount a 28mm lens on top of the 50mm. So the 50mm goes on the camera the regular way- everything works electrically. He said, then I reverse mount a manually controlled 28mm (NOT NIKON.) It will face the 50mm lens. I think he said I need a step ring adapter.

I'm just getting into Macro. I recently bought a nice tripod, ball head, level base and a focus rail. I have not even taken my first shot yet.

Questions...

1. Will this work?
2. If yes, any recommendations on 28mm lenses (is that the best size?)
3. I have a kit lens 18-140mm Nikkor- should I use this one or the 50mm?
4. Should I just buy the purpose built APO Venus Laowa 100mm- I would rather save the $500 if the results will be "close enough." It's a nice lens that gives you 2:1 macro but it has ZERO communication with the camera. For most macro that's fine but for $500- no AF at times will be inconvenient. It remains an option. The lens has no stability control and neither does my camera.
5. Should I buy a clip on Raynox and just use that on my 18-140? I heard they require a min. of 100mm.

***I ordered some Kenko extension tubes. They will allow communication with the 50mm lens or the 18-140 (elec. connections.)

Which combination of the above do you think makes the most sense? Again, I am ok buying the 100mm lens but if any of the other ideas will get me "close" maybe I can save a few bucks!

Thanks!

Feb 12, 2022 at 03:36 PM
LordV
• • • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Using two lens on my Nikon D5500