FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2021 · Question - A sports team wants to license a photo

Sharona
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Question - A sports team wants to license a photo

So let me me say I'm not a pro.
Background:
1. A racing team saw a photo I took of one of their cyclists.
2. They emailed me and asked if they could license it to use as a backdrop (I suppose for events.)
3. I am reading up but have no clue how much to charge for this image.
4. Most of my photos are donated to wildlife charities, so this is certainly a first.

I see a lot of testiness when these questions come up, so I am not even sure I want to go here.

My first thought was just to give them the photo in exchange for one of their cycling helmets as I am in need.

Any help or direction would be appreciated but if you want to wag your finger and scold me for not doing the dirty work or something of that nature, you will be ignored. This is a total surprise, and I feel as though I don't have time to wade through my business for photographers book which is probably outdated anyway.

Thanks in advance.

Aug 30, 2021 at 01:43 PM
tcphoto
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Question - A sports team wants to license a photo

Ask them exactly how the image will be used and for how long, use any number of online calculators and decide what you think the image it worth. The image is a known quantity, they have no risk of hiring someone to shoot it so you are at an advantage. I would quote your rate and then ask for a helmet, odds are he'll love it and give it to you.

Aug 30, 2021 at 02:22 PM
gchappel
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Question - A sports team wants to license a photo

Cycling teams usually have little in the way of funds.
I personally would be glad to trade an image for access.
Access in the team car, to the start/finish line.
Get them to throw in a helmet or jersey and I would be happy.
Those things would be worth more than the money for me.