Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro World | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Cone Flower

keepclicking
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Cone Flower

Planted some flowers in my yard so that I could photograph them. Here is an image of coneflower. Its a 16 image stack and I am still learning on sharping my skills at focus stacking and composition.
Welcome all CC

Thanks for viewing

One question - is it worth investing in Helicon Focus? This image was stacked using PS.

Thanks

Coneflower

Canon EOS 5D Mark III    EF100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM lens    100mm    f/10.0    1/3s    400 ISO    0.0 EV  

Jul 01, 2021 at 07:12 PM
LordV
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Cone Flower

Wonderful shot(s)

Brian V

Jul 02, 2021 at 01:43 AM
e6filmuser
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Cone Flower

Nicely done but I would have liked to see what is out of the frame at the top.

Harold

Jul 02, 2021 at 02:35 AM
keepclicking
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Cone Flower

Thanks Brian, glad you liked it. What are your thoughts on focus stacking software? What do you recommend?

LordV wrote:
Wonderful shot(s)

Brian V

Jul 02, 2021 at 05:49 PM
keepclicking
• • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Cone Flower

e6filmuser wrote:
Nicely done but I would have liked to see what is out of the frame at the top.

Harold

Thanks Harold, good point and now that you mentioned that, I need to do this all over again. Rookie mistake on my part.

Jul 02, 2021 at 05:54 PM
LordV
• • • • • • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Cone Flower

keepclicking wrote:
Thanks Brian, glad you liked it. What are your thoughts on focus stacking software? What do you recommend?

Both helicon focus and zerene stacker will give better overall results than PS at stacking but it obviously depends on how much you intend to use it as to whether it's worth getting.
I actually tend to use zerene probably just because I'm very used to it but helicon is easier to get going with and also faster.

Brian V.

Jul 03, 2021 at 12:02 AM
e6filmuser