New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2021 · Advice for Senior Living Lifestyle Photos

DougVaughn
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Advice for Senior Living Lifestyle Photos

The company I work for operates senior living communities (assisted living) and is wanting quality lifestyle photos for our website and marketing materials. Up to this point, they've used stock photos, but it would be much better to have images of our own communities and residents. We're a very small company with a small budget for something like this.

They have asked if I would consider doing photos for them. I'm reluctant as I'm not a professional (finance guy), but I do have a decent amount of experience with portraits. My concern is I can control the lights for portraits, but not so much for people going about their daily activities (exercise classes, card games, lunch, etc.). This feels a lot like event photography would be, and I have no experience there.

The communities are not strongly lit, and it's typical indoor can lights, likely a mix of temperatures. Do most folks in this situation shoot with only available light (would require 3,200 ISO in most spots)? I fear a flash will add harsh shadows, make all the backgrounds dark, and create varied white balance across the scene.

I'm sure I'm overthinking this, but I know I can't walk around with a big soft box lighting every scene. Bouncing flash off a ceiling is guaranteed to create color casts as the ceilings aren't white. The wedding and event folks must encounter this all the time and handle it with ease. Any advice is appreciated. I've searched for tutorials on lifestyle photography but get something completely different than what I have in mind.

Jun 17, 2021 at 09:02 PM
kaplah
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Advice for Senior Living Lifestyle Photos

DougVaughn wrote: