New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Micro Four Thirds Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       end

Archive 2019 · M43 purchase advice

WanderNWonder

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · M43 purchase advice

A big hello to all!

I'm new to M43 and the FM forums. I'm looking for purchasing advice. To start with some background,

1) I don't own an M43 body yet, I want to get one .. G9 or EM1.2 seem to be the options for my requirements (flowers, architecture, landscapes). I have been using Canon APSC and FF bodies with Canon lenses for the last 12 years.

2) With M43, I want to use native lenses to take advantage of the Dual / Sync IS

3) Usually I photograph flowers, landscapes, architecture when traveling. Sometimes I'm photographing from a boat or a ship, or I want to zoom into the top of a tall structure so having a good amount of reach is always desirable.
To that end, my choice of body will be decided by the lenses I get.
For the tele zoom, I'm debating between getting the PL100-400 (paired with G9) vs waiting for the Olympus 100-400 (paired with EM1.2).
The Oly Pro 150-400 is surely out of my reach.

4) I plan to continue using my Canon kit for wildlife

5) I am also interested in getting a native wide angle lenses for the body that I buy.

Some of the things I've learnt while reading through the forum are:
1. The EM1.2 has phase detection, while the G9 doesn't. The G9 is said to have a "focus defocus wobble" as it uses contrast detection. Is the focusing experience on the EM1.2 better than that on the G9? I don't expect to use the kit for wild life, but with flowers there's always some breeze which requires the use of continuous focus.

2. The PL 100-400 is rumored to have some quality control issues at the long end; as there's no Oly 100-400 to compare, I'm not yet willing to take that as a negative until the Oly 100-400 is out.