Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2019 · Will Luminar 4 develop Fuji RAF raw images?

dgurtch
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Will Luminar 4 develop Fuji RAF raw images?

I am an 82 year old amateur. My more recent work was done with a Sony A7R II. I used mostly DXO to convert raw images and apply lens corrections. In December, I acquired a Fuji GFX 50R with 3 lenses. I make big prints (20"x30" with Sony, and 24"x32" with the Fuji). I often put different skies into different foregrounds, so the Luminar 4 advertisements say you can do this easily, negating a lot of masking, etc, etc). I have Photoshop CS 6 which will not open or process Fuji files. My present work flow for Fugi RAF files is slow and cumbersome: Down load the day's shoot to my PC. Batch Convert in DNG converter. Delete the RAF files to save space, bring the batch processed DNGs into Bridge, select the ones I want to work on. Open Photoshop, and using their Camera Raw, process them (it automatically applies "cooked in" Fuji lens corrections). I then finish retouching etc in Photoshop, and print from Photoshop. I am wondering if Luminar 4 will directly process RAF files, and simplify my work flow, by eliminating the DNG conversion. Will it also allow ACR type corrections during the conversions, such as levels, curves, saturation? Thanks in advance.
Dave G in NJ
www.modernpictorials.com

Aug 30, 2019 at 02:28 PM
spoupard
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Will Luminar 4 develop Fuji RAF raw images?

It should because Luminar 3 does. It does an okay job with Fuji raw files (I use an X-T2), but not great. I use Capture One and like its conversions much, much better.

Aug 30, 2019 at 07:21 PM
charlyw
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Will Luminar 4 develop Fuji RAF raw images?