Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

darktable - A user review and some thoughts for anyone considering a raw...

neoofmatrix

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · darktable - A user review and some thoughts for anyone considering a raw editor

As a hobbyist, I am always excited about new offerings in post processing. So when darktable was made available in Windows, I was naturally curious. My Current workflow includes 3 tools:

Capture NX-D - For NEF (Raw) to Tiff
Gimp - For layers/masks and simple cloning. (And the final jpeg conversion)
Nik Collection for colors and enhancement

I was trying to check if darktable can replace a couple of them so that I can simplify my workflow. I will admit that when I uninstalled darktable within minutes of installing because:
As a standalone, I was not pleased with the colors
It was not going to replace any of my existing tools.
But during the holiday season I had some time off, watched a bit of videos and played around a bit. And the best way to put the result was, I was so impressed that I explored some Linux flavors to make a switch from Windows to Linux . This review will mostly be positive and beware, I am a hobbyist so if you are a Pro with 1500 images to work on a weekday; my view may not apply. Also, there are noticeable shortfalls which I will outline so that if someone can take into consideration if they plan to move from any other Raw developer. But these will be specific to my workflow.
For example, I will not speak anything about the DAM/catalogue features since I always edit individual or batches and not bother about retaining edits. Also, I will not compare against any other editors like Lightroom, since I don’t think I can add value there. So here we go.

What I like about darktable