New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2018 · 6d Video - Total Noob!

drew.haynes
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 6d Video - Total Noob!

Hi All,

Just got a 6d1 - have only done random test-shots in-home, but so far I think I love it (previous body was a 30D). I tried taking a couple random video recordings just wandering in the house and WOW - I have no idea what I am doing. The AF stays locked at the distance it started on, unless I tap the AF-ON button on the back of the 6D (at which point it slowly, loudly refocuses). The only way I could refocus fast enough to even "maybe" record say, a moving person, was manual focus.

At this point I have only a 50mm 1.8 II after switching from crop body - planning to have a 24-105 F4L Mark I soon though. I realize the noise and some of the slowness in AF is likely due to the 50mm. Even still, do people just full-time MF on these, or am I missing some option or setting that cues the camera to auto-adjust focus during video?

I'm 100% new to video, so sorry for such ignorance! We have a baby on the way - I plan to use the camera primarily for photos, and I think it will do great with better glass, but it would be *nice* if I could use it for a little video occasionally, mostly just for capturing candid moments.

Thank you!

Drew

Jan 18, 2018 at 09:43 AM
tsangc
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 6d Video - Total Noob!

I was in a similar situation and gave up--just ended up using a phone to shoot video.

I'm eager to hear replies on how one is supposed to use a DSLR for video in general, family daily use, because the only way I've ever used my 5D2 is similar to the way I used to help a friend in film school shoot Super16--carefully setting up shots on a tripod/slider and keeping the plane of focus in mind the whole time.