Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Right place, right time - baseball

shelland
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Right place, right time - baseball

This is nearly 2 months old now, but decided to post.

I was one of the photographers for the MN State Amateur Tournament this year. I'm just a serious hobbyist myself, and do a lot of HS shooting in one of the towns that hosted games. Through a friend of a friend kind of thing, I got asked to help this 3 weekend event. Had a blast, but wow what a TON of work!

One afternoon, one of the site organizers asked if I could get some pictures of the ballpark at some point for the town webpage. So after a few innings, I started to wander around to get some shots. I wandered around the outside of the fence to get some different angles toward the field, and in center field there was a door in the fence to get out of the field which had a gap around the pipes framing the door. So I put on a short lens and took some shots to stitch together a pano from dead center.

I finished up those shots and put my 70-200+2x back on my 1Dx. I literally started to walk away when I heard the crack of the (wood) bat. I took a step back and peeked through the opening. It was a shot to right and I saw the runner was going to try to make 2nd. So I picked up my camera for some reason, and lined it up through the gap around the door in the fence. And this materialized right before my eyes. I was literally in that spot for no more than 30 seconds (maybe even less) over 3 weekends of shooting, and was walking away as the ball was pitched. Someone wanted me to have this opportunity I guess. I certainly couldn't have captured anything like this from any other spot. The runner that was thrown out actually hit a walk-off home run 2 days later to win the state championship.