about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: webman06  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add webman06 to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 1D X

1dx-thmb
Review Date: Sep 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Exceptional AF, as fast as a machine gun, great handling !
Cons:
The cost maybe

This camera is very responsive. With its 18MPix and double CF slots, not much to debate. If you need the right tool to do the job right : 1DX is the correct answer !
I'm very happy I could afford its price as it is the awesome camera that will last me !!


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jul 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: The BEST portrait lens i've used
Cons:
None

This lens hold all its promises. The bokeh is awesome, the image quality, contrast, AF and aperture control are outstanding.
One of my all-time favorites !!!


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jul 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Bokeh, price, image quality
Cons:
none

This lens is a great performer as a portrait lens. Seeing its performance, i cannot justify the extra cost for the 1.2L
Very versatile and i just recommand it !!!


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very very sharp lens. Ideal for both Macrophotography but also portrait.
Cons:
None

Even if the new IS version is out, this lens is still a star performer. Great image quality, contrast and bokeh. Light and not that expensive ;-)

 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: As good as it gets!!! The image quality is superb. The bokeh is awesome, the focus is extremly fast, the built quality is here. A must have for all sport/wildlife photographer.
Cons:
none

THE lens, one of the best if not THE best in the Canon lineup.
It can be coupled with teleconverter x1.4 or x2 with great results. The focus is extremly fast on a 1 serie camera.
The quality of the hood is great and the weight is not much of a problem as the balance is very good.
The image quality is superb at all apertures.
Very Highly Recommanded !!!!
It's really worth it's cost and is a great step up the 300mm f/4 L IS that i was using previously.
I'm all smiles considering this lens. :-)


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

canon1dmarkiv
Review Date: Apr 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent handling, exposition, color rendition, very fast !!!
Cons:
none so far

I've had it for one month so far and i'm very satisfied with this very dependable camera.
I've used it for :
- landscape with EF 17-40L, 24-105L, 15 fisheye
- wildlife with EF 300L 2.8 IS, 70-200L 2.8 IS, sigma 50-500 DG
- street with EF 50L, 135L, 85 1.8
The color rendition is very very good. No problem with AF tracking, all my shots are tack sharp. A lot less postprod that previous cameras.
I rate it a good 10 !!!


 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II

1dsmarkii
Review Date: Jul 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: 16.7 MPix Full Frame
Cons:
May i say it's heavy...

Got this one used and it sure needs the best lenses that you can get. Aside from that, for my use, it's almost the best money can buy.
A highly recommanded choice per say !


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Mar 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $960.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Wonderfull walkaround lens. The color rendition is splendid, as expected from an L series. The IS is great feature. Not too heavy either ;-)
Cons:
none so far

I brought this lens to replace the 28-135 IS for my 1DmkII.
(that lens will stay for my older and venerable 1D !)

The comparation between these two lenses taught me that having a constanst f/stop over the whole zoom range was a notch better, so was the bokeh. The manual focus overide is a plus.
The color rendition is indeed better and the focus speed is there too.
The IS is newer in generation.
The lens hood is included and it does its job quite well.
One can easely agree that the L series are overall better lenses, but the pricetag is also there...

On its first use, i captured a wonderfull child portrait. The skin texture and color were right on.
On second use, i caught breathtaking landscape/scenery...
Personally, a great lens and a superbe addition to my lensbag.
On conclusion, its a definite keeper !



 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Aug 19, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Compact, sturdy, extra sharp, distorts (but it's what we ask for !), great color rendered
Cons:
Slow focus

It's one of my favorite lens and even if i do not use it all the time, i try to "think" in terms of fisheye to use it often.
I very often crop my shots to produce magnificent panoramas.
VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Every serious photographer should own one !


 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Oct 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $559.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fabulous images. Nothing replaces it.
Cons:
No USM

A fisheye lens is a specialty product. It's outpost is very interesting persee. A must have if you like to photograph the inside of a room at 180 or the inside of a car, or aircraft cockpit.
Used on a digital or film will not change.
I really love this lens, it's one of my favorites.

You can use a defish software and get wonderfull wides if you're into extra large landscape !!! breathtaking.

(I used to own a 8mm sigma but recently sold it as i do not have a FF and the border blue fringe did not suite me).


 
Sigma 50-500mm f4-6.3 EX APO RF HSM

50_500EX_mdl_1_
Review Date: Jul 31, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: New DG version is ideal for DSLR. 10x zoom ratio is excellent.
Cons:
a little heavy to say something ;-)

I had been lurking on this lens for some time and Sigma happened to come out with the new DG version when i visited B&H NY.
I have many impressive pictures handheld at 500mm.
http://www.pbase.com/webman06/lebourget2005

I would not recommand this lens for a newbie due to the bulk and weight but once you are accustomed to its size, it's a beauty... a black beauty ;-)

I highly recommand it...


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II

1D2
Review Date: Nov 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,690.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Bright viewfinder, perfect handling
Cons:
weight... jest to say something

I've switched from Canon FD T90 to Canon EOS D60 to 10D and now to 1DmkII.
It has many functions i loved from the T90 but what should you expect from a pro body !
Honestly the best is the pleasure to use it. It's very fast in all aspects and truely deserves its high rating among pros and amateurs alike.

My recommandation to any hesitant futur wanabe buyers, find a camera shop that will let you handle it. Once you've used it a few seconds you'll be seduced and you won't have second thoughts... It's a winner !!!
Cheers from France.
I've just openned a website dedicated to Canon's DSLRs. Come in and send your feedbacks.
Philippe