about | support

  Reviews by: victoriae  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add victoriae to your Buddy List
Zeiss 135mm f/2 Apo Sonnar T*

Review Date: Jun 7, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image quality, Build

I would say the sharpest lens I have ever used and beats my Canon 200 F2 not by much but I think it's sharper.
This lens is definitely superior in image quality to the Canon 135 F2 in my opinion. Considering the price you can get one used 1,100 ish it's a fantastic piece of glass for the money. Cap is the normal issue with Zeiss but I'm talking about the lens and not the cap. Quality is superb even wide open. Manual focus is not a problem I use this lens for motorsport by pre setting the focus and using 5.6-8 works quite well and I get a good keeper rate.
If your on the fence with this one my advice is get it you won't regret it.

Zeiss 85mm f/1.4 Planar T*

Review Date: Jun 1, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build, image quality

Best 85mm I have ever used and I had the Canon 1.2 mk ii just love the pictures from this lens and very very sharp. OK fair bit of CA wide open but if using RAW and LR no problem. All Zeiss seem to work best on FF but also works very well on my 1D3's.

Zeiss 18mm f/3.5 Distagon T*

Review Date: Mar 8, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Size, ease of use, build quality, IQ, contrast
Large filter size

I'm in agreement with those who feel this is an underated lens. OK it's not as sharp as the 21mm from what i have seen on reviews etc. It produces superb images, a bit of CA easily corrected in Light room. Set at around f8 most things are in focus and manual focus is not a problem for me. Typical Zeiss look to the images, small light and compact. I now have the 35mm f2, 50mm MP, 85 1.4 and this 18mm f3.5. Took me a while to get into these lenses but i have to say they are all superb. Wish i could afford more?

Tokina 35mm f/2.8 AT-X M35 PRO DX

Review Date: Aug 22, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Size, Weight, Cost, Macro
Noisey AF, Only fits APS-C cameras

I bought this lens for a Canon 500d body that i bought just for general use. I have a 1d MK2 and Mk3 plus a 5D MK2. I also have the Canon L series, 180mm Macro and the 100mm is Macro. I think for the price this is a very good lens which produces very good quality images with only a little CA, for the money superb. Has the added advantage of being a macro lens very useful and as a macro lens not in the same leauge as the Canons the 180 is the best, but overall excellent.
Don't find the AF/Man focus ring a problem to use. Recc this to anyone

Markins Q-Ball M10

Review Date: Sep 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Pros far out weigh the cons. Simply the best i have ever used
All been said, (pan lock etc)

This is the mutts nutts (the best). I do not think it is expensive when compared to other ballheads in the same price bracket and above. I intend to get a 2nd one for my other tripod. I paid a little more for the RED version. Don't hesitate if you are looking for a ballhead in this price range just buy it. I use Gitzo tripods and had a Gitzo head priced almost the same the Markins is vastly superior and much easier to use.

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Review Date: Oct 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Almost silent AF and IS, Fast AF for a macro, Razor sharp, IS makes possible sharp hand held shots, Dust and weather proofing. Very nice backgound blur.
Don't like the hood and no Mount ring

The lens i have been waiting for. I have found this lens superb to use and razor sharp with none of the problems other reviewers have had, maybe there is a bad batch out there?
IS, makes for great hand held shots. Insects don't exactly hang around waiting for you to set your tripod up so this has to be for me the best macro i have ever used.
Don't use AI focus for hand held shots as it will hunt (sorry if i'm stating the obvious).
Price is not cheap but is also not over expensive.
Think this is going to be one of my most used lenses.

Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Review Date: Sep 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: An amazing lens, superb colour and contrast easy to use.
A little CA in some shots

Without a doubt my favourite L lens and i use this with all 3 bodies (5D,50D,1D MK iii) and always gives excellent pictures.
Colour and contrast is the best of any of the L's i have. Very easy to use when compared to the 50mm 1.2 and 85mm 1.2. This would be the last lense that i would sell and the first to replace if it went walkies. I cannot recommend it enough.
MK ii version? they will have their work cut out to do better i think.

Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

Review Date: Sep 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Not to big or heavy, very sharp, hand holdable for most shots, macro, reasonable price
IS a little noisey but is not a problem

Hi my first post, This is one of my best lenses and i have quite a lot of L glass, works well with the 1.4x converter. I was able to hand hold this with the 1.4x converter and on a 50D.

I also use this with my 1D MK iii for motorsport and gives superb results.

I think all things considered this is a very good lens and one i shall keep.