about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: terminator  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add terminator to your Buddy List
Canon EF 200mm f/2L IS USM

ef200_f2lisu_586x225_1_
Review Date: Feb 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic lens!
Cons:
Weight & size & price

After owning this lens for two years, I finally decide to review it, after I sold it not long ago.

I bought the lens brand new two years ago. Every praise you read from the previous reviewers is true, period. I am not going to repeat those words here.

However, this is not the lens for everybody. I am not saying this for its price. Rather, I am saying this for its weight and size. It is a big hassle to carry this lens around. Not to mention the glares you get from other people around you.

So I end up only took it out of door once, and shot a handful of times at home. It sits in a dedicated lowepro lens bag for 99.9999% of the time. What a shame!

On the contrary, I carry my Leica 35mm f/1.4 Summilux ASPH lens, which by the way costs the same as this lens, everyday and shoot lots of pictures. To me, this is the lens to keep because it means to be used!

Reading other reviews of the lens makes me wondering if the sale is a wise decision. I think it is, for me.


 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Dec 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, compact compared to 300/2.8, built-in hood, inexpensive, works great with 1.4x extender, fast and silent AF, distance limit, macro capability
Cons:
IS is old, AF can be faster, weight is close to 100-400L, a bit long

I read lots of good compliments about this lens and have looked for it for a while. I am not disappointed. The lens is a solid performer. However, there are still some room for improvement in the next version.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

ef10028lmisu_586x225
Review Date: Apr 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IS!!! nice bokeh at f/2.8, and of course SHARP! better hood, lightweight.
Cons:
when pointing down, there's strange loud noise when AF stops

Upgraded from 100mm non-IS USM and 180L, I have to say that this is a long over-due lens from Canon. IS is worth every penny over the non-IS version. When I look through the viewfinder, WOW, the subject is simply static (no wind of course)!

Every macro lens is great on sharpness, and this lens is no exception. As a plus, bokeh is stunning at f/2.8. And the new hood is much better than the old hoods - more resistant to scratches. I appreciate the fact that it is pretty lightweight compared to many other L glasses.

My copy sometimes has a strange loud noise when AF stops working and lens is pointing down. Not sure whether this is an issue.


 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Sep 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Crazy sharp wide open!!! f/2.8! fast auto-focus, distance switch improves auto-focus speed, IS works like a charm, build like a tank
Cons:
2-stop IS, auto-focus can be faster, attract lots of eyeballs especially when the hood is put on

This is one of the dream lens that I'd never thought I would own. But now I own it! Woohoo! Everything good about this beast is true: sharpness, color, IS, speed, focus, build, etc. It is the best sporting lens for your young kid(s).

Given its age, I think Canon should upgrade the lens, and there are several things Canon can improve: use new IS technology to make it effective for 4-5 stops, speed up AF a little bit, and reduce the weight significantly. Of course, all should be done without compromising the image quality.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Jun 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp wide open, small, light, decent build, inexpensive
Cons:
not USM, bokeh isn't ideal

I got this lens from a fellow FMer as a package deal. Owning a 35L, I didn't expect much from this little fellow. The first moment I received it, I was surprised at its size and weight. It is like a baby compared to its L brother. The image quality is excellent. At f/2, it is already very sharp from center to corner. Initially, I was planning to dump it. Now I have a second thought and keep it on a second body as a general purpose walk-around lens. It is a nice combo with xxxD or xxxxD.

The only pity of the lens is lack of creamy bokeh like 35L.


 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM

EF14
Review Date: Jun 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp from center to border, superb build quality, super wide, distortion is well controlled, light weight, a joy to use
Cons:
expensive, cannot use filter

I already own a 16-35L II and had never thought about this lens till the day an once-upon-a-life-time deal showed up accidentally. This lens is an incredible piece of glasses! At 14mm, it blows away my 16-35L in terms of angle of view, distortion control, and sharpness. Build quality is top of the line. And it is surprisingly small and light. I have never been a fan of super wide angle lens, but this lens changes my mind. It is so much fun to use it!

The resale price is crazy, fortunately I get it much cheaper. Thus, my only complain is that it cannot accept any filter, so I have to be very cautious of using it.


 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: May 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very good image quality up to ISO 800. solid build, 5 fps, easy to switch AF point with multi-controller, fast and flexible operations
Cons:
shutter button tends to fail and stuck (shutter is fine), small LCD screen, the far left and right AF points are less precise, not FF.

I've owned this camera since 2005 - a very nice upgrade from 300D. It is my primary (actually only) DSLR camera in the past four years. Overall, it is a great camera. I love almost every aspect of the camera except the following issues:

First, the 1.8" LCD is so small according to today's standard, and the AF is not as good as 40D/50D. Secondly, the shutter button stuck, and I have to switch to AE lock button for AF. It seems to be a common issue for x0D. Thirdly, the far left and right AF points are not precise, I would say they are almost useless. Lastly, it is not a FF.


 
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM

ef_180_35_1_
Review Date: Mar 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP SHARP SHARP!!! Build like a tank.
Cons:
Expensive

100 USM macro used to be the sharpest lens I've owned in comparison with 35L/85L/135L, now this 180L is no less sharp than that. Color rendering is stunning. Build quality is the best in class. AF is reasonably fast even though this kind of lens is built to manual focus, and it is extremely accurate. The only complain is the price tag. Fortunately I got a very good deal of it.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Nov 20, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: $635.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: build, 16mm, size, f/2.8
Cons:
soft at 35mm

My copy is second hand. I noticed immediately that it is very soft at 35mm - softer than any of my other L zooms such as 24-70L, 24-105L, 70-200L f/2.8 IS. Stopping down to f/5.6 or f/8 does not help much.

Other than the softness, everything else about this lens is positive even though I am not a fan of wide angle.

I am thinking about upgrade to Mark II, but its 82mm and price tag really piss me off.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: bokeh, IS, build, color
Cons:
big and heavy and white!!!!!!!!!!! a bit soft at f/2.8

nothing new to add for this great lens. just hope it is lighter and smaller, and is black. I've decided to sell it and get back f/4 version for now.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Oct 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp from f/1.4, amazing bokeh, color, and everything about image quality
Cons:
build quality not as good as other L such as 85, no weather seal, focus can be tricky

Get this lens second hand. Everything positive about the image quality of this lens is proven true. My copy is sharp from f/1.4 - if I focus correctly of course. Bokeh is amazingly smooth. I used to expect such bokeh from only telephoto lens.

I find that focusing of this lens is very tricky. Of course, thin DOF contribute to this issue. But there's something unusual about this lens. Often it focuses at somewhere that I never understand, and produces complete blur images.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Apr 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp from f/1.2!!! Fast AF.
Cons:
Expensive, fragile rear element

I have long been dreaming for this *MAGIC* lens since my addiction to L glasses. Recently I have got a unbeatable deal to buy this lens in pristine condition second-hand. Being used to the image quality of sharp 100mm macro, 135L, and 70-200mm f/4L IS, I am still thrilled by its performance. At f/1.2, it already beats many Canon primes and L zooms I have owned. I have no hesitation to shoot it wide open, and feel incredibly fun to use it. There is no need to repeat the praises in the other posts here - all they have said are true. It worths every penny! So if you can find a deal like mine, do not hesitate for a single second and hurry for it!

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Mar 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons:
hope it is bigger, or shorter ;-)

This defines the "dream lens". IQ is even better than many L primes I used. Really, nothing to complain about it. If I have to, I hope it is either a little bigger or shorter because I feel I am holding a chalk stick in my hand!

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Mar 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharpness in close range, build quality, f/2.8, USM, color
Cons:
Heavy, heavy, heavy! Softness in long range. bokeh, loose zoom ring, 70mm is a bit short even on APS-C DSLR, no IS

I already own a 24-105L, but f/2.8 is sooooooo attractive that I finally decided to buy it when I found a pretty good deal to get it second hand.

First impression, it is as heavy as a brick - compared to 24-105L. As the seller said, I can feel a lot of glasses in it. I noticed that the zoom ring is pretty loose - perhaps because it is 3 years old? When I hold the lens, I always have a bad feeling that my hand may accidentally move the ring. When the subject is just a little bit far away, I could not get a single sharp image even stop down to f/4 as I expected from my 70-200/4 IS. This is quite disappointing and makes me wonder whether I get a bad copy. And I feel 70mm is a bit short even on my 20D. No IS like 24-105. Bokeh not as good as primes.

Now the good things. Build quality is superb. f/2.8 allows me to take photos indoor without flash. Focus is silent and fast. Color is great. As I get used to this lens, I found that I can produce very very sharp images when I get close enough to the subject - even at f/2.8.

Now I am struggling to keep it, or keep both 24-70L and 24-105L since I really love my 24-105L. Or hope Canon has 24-105/2.8L IS some time. :-)


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jan 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness, color, build quality
Cons:
expensive, a little bulky, f/4, quality control

This is my first L zoom lens. Having owned 135L/200L, 50U/85U/100MU, and Tamron 28-75, I am still quite surprised at the sharpness of this lens throughout its focal range. As other L lens, the build quality is outstanding.

Hope it is f/3.2 or f/3.5 if not f/2.8, and smaller. The worst thing about this lens is that I can see many white dots (dusts?) inside the lens. I feel more and more disappointed at canon's quality control.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Feb 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP!
Cons:
Canon needs better quality control!

Photos by this amazing lens state it all. So I will not repeat all the beautiful things about this lens again.

Just to tell my story about this lens. I bought it from Amazon, and found a receipt with a different name on it. It seemed to be a returned item. I throughly inspected the lens and did not find anything wrong. Then I cut out the UPC and sent it to Canon Rebate Center. After several days I heard from a friend that he found a big dust inside of his brand new Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens. Then I re-examined the lens under strong light and found two unpleasant marks inside of the front element. Both are about 3-4mm in the length. So I sent it to Canon Irvine for a repair. Two weeks after, I received the lens again. Guess what? I found a much longer mark this time - 15-20mm in the length! Fortunately it is not a scratch. It looks much like the mark after one cleans the glass with some wet fibre. It does not affect image quality as far as I can tell. However it is annoying to think of the fact that for $900 you get an imperfect piece of glass from Canon! I would fire the quality control employees if I am the manager in Canon.


 

Page:  1 · 2  next