about | support

  Reviews by: tcphoto  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tcphoto to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

Review Date: Nov 9, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,425.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Beautiful color, contrast and boken.
Extremely heavy, slow AF and expensive.

The images produced by this lens are beautiful, especially when shot at F2.8 or faster. One must remember that the DOF at such apertures are razor thin and AF cannot be relied upon if you don't hit the AF point accurately. The colors and contrast produced straight out of camera are breathtaking.

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

Review Date: Jun 14, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,248.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Beautiful images, build quality
Heavy, marginal focus ring, slow AF

I have always heard of the wonderful images this lens could produce, so after many years I finally bought one. The first thing you notice is the sheer weight of it and the glass. You simply need to realize that in order to utilize it's qualities, you've got to simply focus manually. My lens is a little loose at focusing closer subjects compared to my 35L, 50L and 200/2.8 but it doesn't diminish the images it produces.

Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III

Review Date: Jun 14, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Build quality, resolution, performance

The Canon 1Ds3 is still a great performer after all these years. Although the 1Dx has been out for a few years, I still cannot motivate myself to retire my 1Ds3. I've asked clients if they need more resolution and they are still happy with the files, so I won't be buying a 5Ds or newer offering. I might buy another as a backup, perhaps another 1Ds3 or a 5D3 just in case of an accident.

Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

Review Date: Nov 16, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: The 50L is truly my go to lens and creates beautiful images. I especially love the boken when shot between F1.4-2.0. Whether shooting portraits or product, I haven't been disappointed.
It's priced at 3x the price of the Canon EF50/1.4.

I have never been disappointed with the results of shooting with this lens. You may be tempted to shoot wide open with it but will find that F1.4-2.0 to render quite beautiful results.

Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Review Date: Aug 17, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $970.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Color rendition and contrast

After years of owning standard EF lenses, I have recently upgraded to multiple L lenses. The latest has been the 35L and it may be my favorite. Those that comment on its wide open performance may have unrealistic expectations. Just about every lens lacks at maximum aperture, add user error trying to focus at such a DOF and AF was not designed to work at F1.4. If you want maximum quality, great contrast and great low light performance this lens is for you.

Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II

Review Date: Jan 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Resolution, build quality, processing speed, full frame sensor.
The DPP software.

I upgraded from the original 1Ds to the 1Ds2 recently. It's amazing how much faster this camera writes files compared to the previous version. The buffer empties faster, no long waits for the camera to catch up. The files are very clean, even in the shadow areas.

Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

Review Date: Feb 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $295.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: The 1.4 is a solidly built lens. The boken is very pleasant and sharp from F2.0 and up. A relatively low price for the speed. The build quality is much better than the 1.8II.
Rarely can you achieve a truly sharp image at F1.4.

I traded up from the 1.8II version when I bought a FF body. The 1.8II plastic lens mount instilled no confidence and I'm happy to have sold it. I am very happy with the boken and the 1.4 is sharper compared to the previous lens. The viewfinder is a bit brighter which makes manual focus easier. I rarely use autofocus in my work, so I cannot comment on it's focusing speed.

Canon EOS 1Ds

Review Date: Dec 2, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: High resolution, full frame sensor, 1 series build, quality of files.
The sensor attracts more dust than the 1D and 1D2 and processing time is slower than the other 1D bodies.

I am in heaven, after using the Canon 1D and then a Canon 1D2 I have moved up to a 1Ds. Yes, the technology is older than the 1D2 but my work has benefited from it's features. The larger files, full frame sensor which gives you a 1.0 factor and true percpective of lenses are well suited to my product and fashion work. A one gig card holds more than 80 RAW files and the 3 frames a second is plenty.

If you are a Photojournalist or Sports Photographer, I would recommend the 1D2 or 1D2n. But if you are looking for an affordable body without the 1Ds2 sticker shock and clean used 1Ds is a great choice.

Canon EOS 1Ds

Review Date: Nov 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Full frame, high resolution and a 1 series build. I just aquired a 1Ds with 22K actuations on it's shutter and am very happy with the files it produces. I had a 1D2, but needed higher resolution and full frame and have no regrets.
The sensor does attract more dust than the 1D and 1D2, but I see no problem with regular maintainence and care outside the studio.