about | support

  Reviews by: tanglefoot47  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tanglefoot47 to your Buddy List
Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM

Review Date: Aug 27, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp very sharp even at 2.8, nice finish, OS
Not long enough but knew that when I bought so no big deal

First off I am not a Sigma fan I actually don't care for sig lenses. But this lens is awesome and a lot less money than the 17-55 IS but is very well built seems more solid than the Canon. Love the new finish way to go Sig

Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM

Review Date: Mar 29, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Zoom range is nice, fast AF, OS is great, sharp man
Can't think of any

First off let me tell you I don't like Sigma lenses, but this is a big butt I needed a lens of this range and the Canon are way to expensive. So I found this lens used but what can I say I love it. I was so surprised at how good this lens is, OS works great, HSM fast, sharp as can be and colors are great. I never thought I would be this happy with a Sigma lens

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

Review Date: Aug 25, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: IS 4th Generation, Sharp even at 2.8, AF is fast, Great hood, White
Cost but you get what you pay for

Well I wasn't going to buy this lens because just wasn't convinced it was any better than the other 70-200's. But finally I couldn't take it any longer so I ordered one and the rest is history. This lens is fantastic better than I was expecting. If I get a OOF shot it's my fault not the lens. I was shocked to see how sharp this lens is at 2.8. I am very happy I bought it and love the new positive hood on this.

Canon EOS 7D

Review Date: Apr 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Well built, great AF, great high ISO for indoor sports, great IQ
Cost and maybe not as sharp as my 40D

I love this camera and for me the high ISO is great for shooting indoor sports. I can use my 70-200 2.8 for wrestling matches and crank the ISO up to 4000 easy and get great shots. I could have never done this with my 40 or 50D. It's just a great camera that I have enjoyed very much

Tokina 50-135mm f/2.8 AT-X 535 AF PRO DX

Review Date: Sep 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, light weight, 2.8, hood included, built is great
Little slow AF but not bad

Boy was I shocked with this lens it is tack sharp even sharp at 2.8. Today I shot a baseball game LL and it was every bit as good if not better than the 70-200 2.8. Maybe not as fast but not bad. Feels great in the hands

Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

Review Date: Nov 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light weight, fast, sharp
None I knew the lesn didn't have IS when I bought it so how can one say this is a con? If it did have IS triple the cost

Excellent lens and for the money you can't beat it period. Some of the best bokeh, love it for shooting sports or hummers

Canon EOS 50D

Review Date: Oct 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Awesome camera love it, fast AF and accurate. LCD, micro adjust, 15MP great for cropping I love this. there are many thing I like about this camera including the menu. I started out with the rebel then the 10, 20, 30 and the 40 and this camera is the best upgrade of all
My neg is I just sent mine back because of power loss when installing the CF card. I had to take bat out and put back in and all is ok. But I like this camera so much I am exchanging

I guess I did in my pro but I am so excited about this camera, shooting BIF I am getting the best I have ever gotten, did I mention I am happy LOL

Gitzo 2220 Aluminum Explorer

Review Date: Jun 15, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: $229.00 | Rating: 5 

Pros: Nice tripod, seems very strong but
Never had the tripod out of the house as I just bought it new from B&H only set it up in my room to try it out. When my I installed my head I decided to try it out. So I grabbed the head and the center column was loose and the reason is the set screw was broken. I mean how can something like this happen with a Gitzo I thought I was buying one of the best. Lucky for me I can return it and now I will go with the Manfrotto

Canon EOS 40D

Review Date: Feb 19, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Fast for sports, feels great. love the large LCD, great keeper rate

Love this camera I have moved up from the Rebel, 20D then the 30 now the 40 and imo it's the best yet. I get so many more keepers with this camera compared to the others I have owned and love shooting sports with it

Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

Review Date: Dec 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $174.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp IS cheap
Plastic but for the price what can one expect?

What a shocker lens I bought this thinking what the heck at this price why not. But the shock was how good it is I mean this baby is sharp very sharp has IS and it works great. I have owned many L lenses that didn't give me a sharper image. The only down side I can see is the built quality but for the price it a total winner

Canon EOS 40D

Review Date: Sep 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,299.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: What can I say I started out with the Rebel from their the 20 to the 30 now the 40 and love it. It's the best of all, more accurate AF, better VF, great big LCD which is great for use old people LOL, easy controls love the menu and best of all I am getting many more keepers

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

Review Date: Sep 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $960.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast AF, well built, great colors and IQ is so great I can't believe it

I just bought this used recently and of all the 70-200's I have owned this is the best. I have owned both IS models which are very nice but this lens I am the most happy with

Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

Review Date: Aug 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $659.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp nice wide and colors are fantastic

I had this lens sold it like so many others and have missed it so I bought another. I think it's the best wide zoom for the crop camera money can buy. I have owned the Tok and Sig but they can't touch the quality of this lens image wise.

Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

Review Date: Jul 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $874.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, IS, color, sharp did I mention sharp??
Not an L lens but who cares when I can get these results

What a lens I love it I was very hesitant to buy. I had the 24-70 but sold it to buy this lens and I am not sorry one bit.

Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

Review Date: May 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp very sharp, great color and contrast, new generation IS and fast AF

What a lens I have owned all the 70-200 there is and this one is the best. Maybe not built as good as the 2.8's but it's solid and a solid performer. I sold my first one and bought a 2.8 and knew I made a mistake. I missed it so much I am now waiting for my second one to arrive on Monday

Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

Review Date: Apr 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $419.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Price, sharp light weight

I am becoming a Tamron fan fast. I just posted a review for the 28-75 and now this one. Another very sharp lens and again sharp at 2.8


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next