about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: sven rose  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sven rose to your Buddy List
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 21, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: sharpness, IQ for the price, lightweight, very good macro, versatility
Cons:
IS would be fine, why not sold with lens hood?

After many month of use: The lens is perhaps a little sharper than my 70-200 f4L IS, but colors are a little bit more vibrant with the L-Lens.
I couldn't imagine, this lens could be so versatile. Focusing is fast enough for action shoot of insects:

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/photos/335897473_dEDmn-L.jpg

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/photos/335894965_msJDC-L.jpg


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Apr 7, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: everything, the more I use it, the more i like it
Cons:
white color

Excellent for birding and butterfly:

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/4675361_bLsy8/1/276328891_N2i6P

All pictures taken with this extraordinary lens. The light wasn't bright, but with this lens higher ISO pictures seems to turn-out better then with the other lens I have.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Feb 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: overall IQ (sharpness, colours, contrast)
Cons:
No IS

This lens for macro is a great step forward in IQ and handling in comparison to extension tubes and magnification lenses (or combination of both) on lenses like the 17-55 f/2.8 IS or (better) 70-200 f/4 IS, despite the lacking of IS.

The IQ seems to me little better then the 17-55 f/2.8 IS and quite as good as the 70-200 f/4 IS.

some pictures taken with this lens:

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/4332779_6BKyq/1/253879616_DcPvQ


 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Jan 5, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: IS, good IQ, high keeper-rate
Cons:
dust (very littel dust, but only 3 month old, with UV-Filter mounted)

IS works great and allows special effects in low-light and longer exposures (al handheld):

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/4113114


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Nov 4, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: fast AF, IS, IQ and so on - very usable with Kenko Teleconverter 1.4x and as "macro" (close-up) lens with Extender rings.
Cons:
white color

With the 40D (fast AF, 6.5fps): the combo delivers very good in tracking moving subjects (perfect would be with the 1DMKIII I think):

http://www.svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3770556

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3610712

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3658430#P-3-15




 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Nov 4, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: fast and reliable AF and much more
Cons:
price, lack of dust-sealing

Wit the 40D it's a pleasure to use this lens. It's fast enough to take full advantage of the capability of the camera (6.5fps). This was not the case with the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 DI, this lens seems to slow and the lack of IS makes it difficult to froze action like it is possible with the EF-S 17-55.

 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Nov 4, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: fast accurate AF, 6,5 fps and much more
Cons:
LCD resolution, auto ISO is not great

After taking over 20k pics what I find the best with this camera is the ability for tracking moving subjects. The fast and accurate AF combined with 6.5fps is a huge improvement over the Rebel Xti/400D. I can imagine, what it could be with a 1DMkIII: more keepers, but this don't justify the price for me. The lens seems important: the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 Di - a good lens - was not fast enough for reliable results. The 40D and the (overpriced ) EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS with ultrasonic motor works perfectly together.

With the XTi I couldn't imagine to do this with such results:
http://www.svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3770556

(taken with the EF 70-200 L f/4 IS - also a realy good combination with the 40D)



 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Oct 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IS, color rendition, fast AF, sharp
Cons:
not weather sealed, Distorsion, expensive, no lens hood included

As upgrade from a Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 the result is much more keepers, I think thanks to IS and faster AF. Before buying this lens I prefer by far to use the EF-70-200 F/4 IS then the Tamron 17-50, because of the better results. Now this lens is quite as good as the 70-200 zoom, which is truly excellent. Both lens with a 40D (+ Kenko TC 1.4x, Polfilters and Extension tubes) makes a very nice and compact set for a lot of situations and I don't use the cheaper primes as much (EF 50 f/1.8 II, Sigma 30 f/1.4).

Because the EF 70-200 Zoom has another filter diameter as the EF-S 17-55 (67 versus 77cm), I have to bought also a new Filter set (PLC+UV). Also the Kenko Extensions tube didn't fit to the lens and I need to buy a canon Typ II Extension tube too. This with the extra lens hood makes the 17-55 finaly a very expensive lens. With the Tamron I could use the same filters and Extensions tube as with the 70-200 f/4 IS.


 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Sep 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,276.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, rendition of colours, build quality, 6.5 fps, fast AF
Cons:
screen resolution and dull screen

As an upgrade from a Canon Rebel XTi / 400D I notice a far better IQ, better rendition of colours, very low noise up to ISO 800.

Pictures from the camera without ANY processing (no crop or other adjustement), in camera noise reduction off, jpeg in best quality:

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3511055

Most pictures were taken with 70-200 f4L IS, some with Tamron 17-55 F2.8, some with addition of Kenko TC 1.4 or Extension tubes, landscape with circular pol filter. All handheld.

a rudimentary ISO-comparison (100% crops), all with in-camera NR off:

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3511055#198200754


The processed pictures:

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3511847



 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Jul 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, colours, contrast
Cons:
would prefere to have it in black, quite impressive with the huge lens hood on it.

It is the best lens I have with best and most reliable results.
Works well with Kenko Teleplus 300 TC 1.4X and / or extension tubes for macros.

The IS ist amazing. I very shortly use before a non-IS, non L-Zoom 70-200 f/4 - what a difference, what more versatility with IS. And of course nothing to compare in terms of IQ

The IS is also very useful when taking macros with extension tubes or +3 close-up lens, when I need to step down the aperture. So the 70-200 L f/4 IS becomes my macro-lens.
(with extension tube of 20mm:
http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3077963 - 167943605
with Hoya +3 lens: http://svenrose.smugmug.com/gallery/3077963 - 167957796
both without any processing other then resizing to 1600x1200)

I read one review that compare the sharpness of the lens with other high-quality lenses ( canon 85 f/1.2, 100 f/2, 135 f/2.0, Sigma 70-200 f2.8)the result was, that from f/4 to f/12 the zoom lens is quite equal, only the 85 f/1.2 was a little sharper. Considering this, it's worth the high price, because if you don't' need greater aperture than f/4 you don't need primes (without IS!) in the range from 70-200mm.

p.s.: finaly I find the URL of the review: http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/999/cat/11