about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: susi  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add susi to your Buddy List
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Aug 5, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful Bokeh, Sharp, Great length for most shots, build quality, great walk around lens.
Cons:
There is a learning curve! All of my OOF shots have been user error.

I love this lens on my 5DMKlll , the new focal system creates a lot more keepers with a lens that can be tricky to nail focus. It took me a while to get to know this lens and to learn how to shoot with it, as 1.2 is a pretty shallow window to shoot with. I am getting a lot more keepers now due to the new camera and more experience with the lens. I find it is a great camera for senior sessions, some wedding work, Bridal and pretty much any portrait session. It is also a great walk around as the weight is not bad and pretty small for an L lens.
If this is your first 1.2 lens , be patient and persistent and you will be rewarded!
Here is a gallery shot entirely with this lens and the 5DMKlll
http://susilawson.zenfolio.com/p611838668
susi


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark III

5DIIIs
Review Date: Apr 7, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent ISO, AlServo Tracking, quick focal system, easy menus, new preview layout, Dual Card slots, HDR
Cons:
None

Best so far in the Canon line up of none 1D cameras. I think the alservo tracking is on par with my MklV and the high ISO , low noise is excellent. Focal system is fast and accurate at the frame rate is all I need. I shot soccer with it the first week and it performed as well as my MKlV. I like the low weight and solid build. Love the new round grip for a good hold on the side of the camera. I posted some low light with free downloads on my web site at http://susilawson.zenfolio.com so you can download and see the low noise your self. I think you will be very happy with this camera! Glad I stuck with Canon!

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Aug 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp thru entire range, light for a white, versatile
Cons:
none

I owned this lens a few years ago and just did not think it was all that sharp at 400. I sold it to buy the 300 f/4 and the 400 f/5 but became frustrated with having to run back and forth to try and get the shot I wanted. I heard the new 100-400's were sharper than the older ones, so I bought a new one a few months back and covered high school track with it. I was really surprised at how sharp the images came out!! I stopped using my 300 and 400 (even though they were sharp, they were not versatile) so sold them and decided this lens is a keeper! Very pleased with the images I am getting on my 1DMKIII with this lens!
The push-pull doesn't bother me at all and is easy to adjust to.
Also pleased that this lens is easy to hand hold for hours without any fatique. Very important to me as a female without much upper body strength!


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Jun 24, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Noticably lighter than the MKII and feels good in my hands. Excellent ISO performance! Love the silent shutter feature, large LCD and superb images right outta the camera!
Cons:
None that I have encountered

I shot a family shoot the day after I got the camera with the 24-105 lens and there were 197 keeps out of 210 taken and most of the images did not require any editing which was a nice surprise. The color and sharpness were splendid! The client is very happy with the gallery I posted.
Take a peek if interested in the shots.
http://susilawsonphotography.biz/layout/0001/gallery_view.cfm?g=104
I look forward to testing this action ability with an upcoming horse show.
Conclusion, I LOVE this camera!!


 
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: Mar 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $379.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, light, fast
Cons:
none

I read a lot of reviews before I purchased and have found that all the praise is deserved! Very sharp and fast in low light where I was hoping it would be. I bought this for portrait /wedding photography and it is perfect for taking in the whole room/church etc and doing it all with natural light.
Excellent price for this little shiner! Highly recommended!


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jan 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $775.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, Sharp, Black, light
Cons:
doesnt play MP3 :)

I bought this lens after reading the reviews and hearing about how fast it was. I also had just bought a 1DMKII and wanted to try out the fast shutter with a fast lens. I took some candids today of some kids riding dirt bikes, running..constant motion and this lens was right on with the focus and I was impressed with the results. I love the range also as it was not too limiting and could back up easily when I needed to.
I plan to try this for Basket ball next week and don't think I wil be dissappointed. The background blur is gorgeous and the images are sharp! Looks like a keeper to me!


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Dec 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Light (compared to most), price, color, range
Cons:
none

I have had this lens a few weeks and I am finding it on my camera more and more as it has such a great range for either landscapes or portraits and I find that it is better in low light than I expected it to be. The IS really works great and I was pleasantly surprised at how sharp this lens is! All in all, this lens is a excellent choice for it's price and performance!

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: May 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,179.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast focus, contrast, color, weight, size and Hey Great pictures!
Cons:
Price was a tough one..

I got this lens a few days ago and it was raining so I got to test it in low light Smile I was surpised how well it did in the dim light inside with it being a f/4... I took it out today and took pictures of everything and became more and more impressed with it. I am amazed how I can crop a picture and zoom in and still see wonderful detail..first lens I have ever been able to do this with ..but this is my first L glass. The money was a tough one for me being a single Mom, but I think this glass will earn its keep at the next wedding I shoot, so this is a keeper for me! I highly recommend this lens for any subject matter!

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2.8 with Softfocus

ef135mmf_28soft_1_
Review Date: Feb 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: extremely sharp! Lightweight!
Cons:
None

I bought this lens from the B&S here and I couldn't be happier, it is as sharp as my 50mm 1.8 . It has a fast focus and wonderful DOF. I haven't tried the SF as I have no need for it with PS. This one is a keeper!!!!!!!!