about | support

  Reviews by: susi  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add susi to your Buddy List
Sony FE 55mm f/1.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Sonnar T*

Review Date: Sep 11, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $875.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: quick focus, very sharp, light weight, well built

Great little lens. The bokah is not as 'dreamy' as my 50 f/1.2 on my 5DMKlll but this lens, of course is not a 1.2. It is much easier to get the face in focus with a little more aperture and get every single hair rendered in sharp detail.
Here is a gallery where I used this lens the first time :
Took these with my new Sony A7R ll and just a great combo ! I am loving the portraits I have taken thus far !
I read many reviews on FB in the sony forum before purchasing and I think all the praise has proven to be true about this lens !

Sony Alpha a77II

Review Date: Sep 11, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light weight, Vintage look, easy to learn, uses adapter, quick focus with native lens, so easy to carry around all day, very sharp pictures with the sony 55 f/1.8 (Only lens I have bought so far ) Images are just as good as any DSLR I have used. Includes 2 batteries Great looking camera, well built.
Not many wide aperture lens choices, hunts with adapter, viewfinder shows pic right after taking and can be a little confusing coming from a DSLR, pricey, batteries not the best,

(This review is for the Sony A7R ll, just realized this camera is not on here yet )I bought this camera after suffering a rotator cuff tear and have impending surgery (This is my 2nd time ) so I decided to switch to much lighter gear and can even shoot this camera with one hand if needed. It is very light after coming from 5DMKlll . I got the Sony 55 f/1,8 lens to start with and I was in awe when I saw the first pix I took with it. Very sharp images ! You can see my first samples here :
This camera is just a joy to shoot with because of its fast focus and ease of carrying . Perfect for travel , but I can also see shooting a wedding with this and not being worn out by the weight.
The manual controls are easy to figure out. The ISO stay in auto , so be sure and switch this if you like your own controls.
The front mode wheel is too close to the on/off button and you will find yourself turning off the camera accidentally , but this will become easy to avoid, to once you learn the camera well.
The view finder also takes some getting used to, as it displays the image as you take it , which was a little strange , but as soon as you hit the shutter it goes away.
Since its so small folks tend to think you are using a point and shoot (had to explain to my first couple clients that, no, this is a pro camera Smile
I tend to shoot medium RAW as I don't see a need for huge files, but for those who want huge, this camera will not disappoint !
Its a keeper, now selling most of my canon gear and keeping this little gem. Love it more every time I use it !

Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

Review Date: Aug 5, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Beautiful Bokeh, Sharp, Great length for most shots, build quality, great walk around lens.
There is a learning curve! All of my OOF shots have been user error.

I love this lens on my 5DMKlll , the new focal system creates a lot more keepers with a lens that can be tricky to nail focus. It took me a while to get to know this lens and to learn how to shoot with it, as 1.2 is a pretty shallow window to shoot with. I am getting a lot more keepers now due to the new camera and more experience with the lens. I find it is a great camera for senior sessions, some wedding work, Bridal and pretty much any portrait session. It is also a great walk around as the weight is not bad and pretty small for an L lens.
If this is your first 1.2 lens , be patient and persistent and you will be rewarded!
Here is a gallery shot entirely with this lens and the 5DMKlll

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Review Date: Apr 7, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent ISO, AlServo Tracking, quick focal system, easy menus, new preview layout, Dual Card slots, HDR

Best so far in the Canon line up of none 1D cameras. I think the alservo tracking is on par with my MklV and the high ISO , low noise is excellent. Focal system is fast and accurate at the frame rate is all I need. I shot soccer with it the first week and it performed as well as my MKlV. I like the low weight and solid build. Love the new round grip for a good hold on the side of the camera. I posted some low light with free downloads on my web site at http://susilawson.zenfolio.com so you can download and see the low noise your self. I think you will be very happy with this camera! Glad I stuck with Canon!

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

Review Date: Aug 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp thru entire range, light for a white, versatile

I owned this lens a few years ago and just did not think it was all that sharp at 400. I sold it to buy the 300 f/4 and the 400 f/5 but became frustrated with having to run back and forth to try and get the shot I wanted. I heard the new 100-400's were sharper than the older ones, so I bought a new one a few months back and covered high school track with it. I was really surprised at how sharp the images came out!! I stopped using my 300 and 400 (even though they were sharp, they were not versatile) so sold them and decided this lens is a keeper! Very pleased with the images I am getting on my 1DMKIII with this lens!
The push-pull doesn't bother me at all and is easy to adjust to.
Also pleased that this lens is easy to hand hold for hours without any fatique. Very important to me as a female without much upper body strength!

Canon EOS 1D Mark III

Review Date: Jun 24, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,499.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Noticably lighter than the MKII and feels good in my hands. Excellent ISO performance! Love the silent shutter feature, large LCD and superb images right outta the camera!
None that I have encountered

I shot a family shoot the day after I got the camera with the 24-105 lens and there were 197 keeps out of 210 taken and most of the images did not require any editing which was a nice surprise. The color and sharpness were splendid! The client is very happy with the gallery I posted.
Take a peek if interested in the shots.
I look forward to testing this action ability with an upcoming horse show.
Conclusion, I LOVE this camera!!

Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

Review Date: Mar 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $379.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp, light, fast

I read a lot of reviews before I purchased and have found that all the praise is deserved! Very sharp and fast in low light where I was hoping it would be. I bought this for portrait /wedding photography and it is perfect for taking in the whole room/church etc and doing it all with natural light.
Excellent price for this little shiner! Highly recommended!

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Review Date: Jan 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $775.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, Sharp, Black, light
doesnt play MP3 :)

I bought this lens after reading the reviews and hearing about how fast it was. I also had just bought a 1DMKII and wanted to try out the fast shutter with a fast lens. I took some candids today of some kids riding dirt bikes, running..constant motion and this lens was right on with the focus and I was impressed with the results. I love the range also as it was not too limiting and could back up easily when I needed to.
I plan to try this for Basket ball next week and don't think I wil be dissappointed. The background blur is gorgeous and the images are sharp! Looks like a keeper to me!

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Review Date: Dec 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, Light (compared to most), price, color, range

I have had this lens a few weeks and I am finding it on my camera more and more as it has such a great range for either landscapes or portraits and I find that it is better in low light than I expected it to be. The IS really works great and I was pleasantly surprised at how sharp this lens is! All in all, this lens is a excellent choice for it's price and performance!

Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

Review Date: May 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,179.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, Fast focus, contrast, color, weight, size and Hey Great pictures!
Price was a tough one..

I got this lens a few days ago and it was raining so I got to test it in low light Smile I was surpised how well it did in the dim light inside with it being a f/4... I took it out today and took pictures of everything and became more and more impressed with it. I am amazed how I can crop a picture and zoom in and still see wonderful detail..first lens I have ever been able to do this with ..but this is my first L glass. The money was a tough one for me being a single Mom, but I think this glass will earn its keep at the next wedding I shoot, so this is a keeper for me! I highly recommend this lens for any subject matter!

Canon EF 135mm f/2.8 with Softfocus

Review Date: Feb 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: extremely sharp! Lightweight!

I bought this lens from the B&S here and I couldn't be happier, it is as sharp as my 50mm 1.8 . It has a fast focus and wonderful DOF. I haven't tried the SF as I have no need for it with PS. This one is a keeper!!!!!!!!