about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: subidiom  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add subidiom to your Buddy List
Nikon 50mm 1.2 AI-S


Review Date: Jan 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $525.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful rendering at f/1.2 and super sharp when stopped down to f/2 and beyond
Cons:
None

A beautiful manual focus classic Nikkor. Still in production after all of these years, it's a beautiful lens mechanically. They really do still make them like they used to.

Extremely hard to nail focus when shot at f/1.2 and never really 'sharp' wide open, but that's not the point. This lens renders beautifully and blurs backgrounds into oblivion. This is a creative lens when used as intended. Stop down to f/2.0 or more and images pop into extreme sharpness.

An easy match for the D800 quality wise. Live view makes getting focus right very easy and the focus confirmation lamp is pretty useful when shooting through the viewfinder. I love this lens on the Df, so much so that I've gotten rid of my AF 50's.

Get one new while you can and smell that new MF Nikkor smell right out of the box. Lovely!


 
Nikon 16mm f/2.8D AF Fisheye-Nikkor

1910NAS_180
Review Date: Jan 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $919.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very compact, sharp, excellent build quality
Cons:
Some CA's, pretty expensive

The 16mm 2.8D Fisheye hasn't gotten much love here lately, so I thought I'd post a review.

I used this lens on my D700 and now the D800e and it's nearly as good at 36MP. The center is always sharp at any aperture and the corners are less so, but you're generally emphasizing the middle of the frame anyway due to the unique perspective this lens offers. Stop down to f/8 and it's much sharper all over.

Handles shooting into the sun nicely and can be provoked to produce cinematic style flare.

I will never let this lens go. It's a mechanical jewel.


 
Nikon 24mm AF-S Nikkor f/1.4G ED

675829
Review Date: Nov 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazingly sharp, contrasty and lovely rendering. Moderate but easily correctible distortion.
Cons:
Expensive. Unreliable auto focus in contra lighting.

Lots has already been said about this lens, but my favorite aspect is the unique rendering it provides. It has some pretty heavy vingetting wide open, but it is very natural looking and contributes to the overall look of the images.

Stop down to f/4 or 5.6 and nothing in this focal length can touch its sharpness.

I am inspired to shoot more with this lens on my camera - it's a very unique gem.


 
Nikon 1 18.5mm f/1.8 Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_11_09_35_AM
Review Date: Nov 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $189.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Super sharp, excellent close focus ability and light weight.
Cons:
Nothing major

If you are a Nikon 1 shooter, this lens is a must have. It stays on my V1 95% of the time, I like it that much. With the 2.7x crop factory, the AOV is close to a 50mm on full frame, but you need to get quite close to get muck subject isolation, but that is where this unit shines. It focuses just a few inches away and has a nice smooth bokeh that is very pleasing. Very sharp on both the 10 and 14MP bodies. Nothing to complain about and a stunning value for under $200 new.

Highly recommended for V1 users.


 
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S NIKKOR

product_01_copy
Review Date: Feb 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super bokeh, build quality and very sharp.
Cons:
Big, heavy and expensive

This lens is very sharp at f/1.4 and amazingly so from f/2.0 and on. It paints beautifully and the bokeh is very smooth as well for a 35. Like the other new AF-S fast Nikkors recently released, a little on the big and heavy side, but the build quality is great and seems very durable.

A little slow on the autofocus, but fast enough. Expected for a f/1.4 - lots of glass and I'll take acuracy over speed.


 
Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Micro-Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Nov 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $199.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, lightweight, small and inexpensive. Perfect normal prime for DX.
Cons:
Popular and hard to get.

An amazing little prime lens for your DX camera. Small, lightweight and inexpensive for what you get. Melts away onto larger bodies such as the D300. A perfect match also for smaller bodies like the D40.

Super sharp, execellent color rendition and nice bokeh. Overall, nicer than the 35mm f/2 for DX.


 
Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S DX -Nikkor

pic_001-2
Review Date: Nov 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp across the focal-length range when moderately stopped down. Absolutely stellar performance between f/8-11 at all focal lengths. Small and light and takes 77mm filters. Best in class DX performance for an ultra-wide zoom.
Cons:
Expensive. Variable aperature. A little softer wide-open (but not bad).

The lens balances nicely on the D300 at just over a pound. The zoom ring is a little stiff yet smooth, but I like it that way. The build quality is very similar to the Nikon 16-85mm which is to say very good, but is definitely at the high end of the prosumer range vs. professional.

At 15mm, the front element is fully recessed and extends out about 1/8" zoomed to 10mm and 1/4" when zoomed to 24mm.

The lens is nice and sharp with surprisingly little distortion, especially considering the focal length range. Very resistant to flare, even shooting into the sun.

An overall better performer than the Nikkor 12-24 f/4 in my opinion across the range, although I prefer the build quality of the 12-24. A nice upgrade from the Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 - which I have a lot of experience with better ergonomics and a much more solid feel and build quality.

While it's more expensive than similar options, it's the best thing going in this range for DX.