about | support

  Reviews by: stopper  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stopper to your Buddy List
Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L IS USM

Review Date: Jun 10, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: IQ across the frame, cheaper than the 2.8 and easy to take hiking
Don't like the petal lens hood

In some some situations there is heavy vignetting when using a flash and auto. Easily corrected in Photoshop though.
I love to take this light lens hiking and take pictures of the 200 foot high trees straight up with the blue sky and some cloud in the background, 16mm angle of view is a must.
I have some great pictures of the Cozumel, Mexico sunsets at 16mm. 24mm from the 24-70mm just didn't give enough of the sky, 16mm really enhanced the picture. Don't expect to get a large sun in the picture, it will be a small dot, if you want a large sun use a 300mm.

Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

Review Date: Jun 10, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Small for a 400mm, it gives 'L' IQ across the whole frame

Difficult to use when hiking in the bush. The light level is decreased so much that unless out in the open I will use my 300mmF4 IS. The IS does make a difference.
This lens should be updated to IS and fluorite glass included.

I have a lot of great photos of my Sons huskies play fighting in the snow. The images are so sharp it is easy to see the individual hairs on the dogs.

Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

Review Date: Jun 10, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: IS for my unsteadiness

Met all my expectations.
I know it is not 2.8 so I will not compare it to something it is not.
It is light, small and easy to take on holidays or hiking.

Canon EOS 7D Mark II DSLR Camera

Review Date: Jun 10, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,950.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great to have 10 F/Second, Great looking ISO at 1600 and 2 card slots

1.6 crop factor is great for my wildlife photos.
The 10 frames per second for my Grandson's sports is super. So much easier to get that ball just as it hits the bat. Where my 6D was lucky to get the ball near the bat.
I love the 2 card slots. I can save raw to the CF and jpegs to the SD card. If I don't need to use the raw files it is so easy to delete them all.
The 65 cross type focus points sure helps keep focus on my birds in flight. I don't have the steadiest hands so the image is not always in the centre and the big focus point area is a must for me.
Battery life has far exceeded the 850 shots. Of course I don't use live view or flash (I have the 580ex 2 if needed).

Canon EOS 7D

Review Date: Jun 10, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,900.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great camera

Loved this camera.
Finally saved enough to update.

Here is a youtube video if the screw inside the camera comes out. It worked for mine.
Thanks John for the very good information and video. Easy to follow and it worked.

Canon EOS 6D

Review Date: Jun 10, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,850.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light weight, Great ISO and FF
No negatives. There are limitations and you should know them and learn to deal with them if you buy the 6D.

I knew the limitations on this camera before I bought it. Most of them really don't make a difference.
180th of a flash sync...what is that, a 1/3 of a f-stop...I haven't noticed a difference compared to my 7D mark ii.
9 focusing points. Yes, the 65 cross type is better by far. I have learned to deal with it as most of my pictures with the 6D are landscape and architecture. So I use only the centre point.

I love the ability to use ISO 3200 and the pictures can still be 20x30 inches.

When I go hiking I take both cameras with me. 7D mark ii for wildlife and 6D for wide angle scenery...unless it is a very cloudy winter day then only the 6D comes with. Better at higher ISO.

I watched a Digital Rev youtube on what they did to a Canon rebel and a Nikon plastic cameras. I have full confidence in my light weight 6D.

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

Review Date: May 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,950.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build, Image quality

I had the F4 version. Good lens but I needed the F2.8 for hockey games.
I considered the non IS but the IS version gives me more flexibility.
It is up to you personally if you want to spend the extra money on the IS.

Great lens.
I highly recommend it.

Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

Review Date: May 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,270.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build, IQ.

1) A F2.8 L lens is going to be heavy, until they make a plastic that gives as good or better IQ as glass, don't complain about the weight. You know it is heavier than a cheap lens before buying, don't complain about the weight.
2) Don't post negative comment(s) when you don't own a lens or camera. If you have a gripe with a company take it up with that company.
3) You hear a lot about bad copies, what is the true percentage of bad copies. You can't use reviews to make that estimate, all people don't write a review.
What is a bad copy? A bad copy for one person may be acceptable for the next. Bad copy can be subjective.

I love this lens. I bought it new last month. I love the IQ I get from it and I expected no less. It performs exactly as an L lens should.
I didn't know about L lenses until I went into digital cameras. Now I know why my film images can't match my digital ones.
My wife has used it for my business and she has not complained in anyway. Therefore I also know it is performing as an L lens should. She is so picky about any pictures she takes or someone else takes. She says 'A soft lens is blurry'.
I highly recommend this lens if you need(want) the F2.8L.