about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: stan_g  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stan_g to your Buddy List
Canon EF 22-55mm f/4-5.6 USM

ef_22_55mm_f4_56_usm
Review Date: Apr 21, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Very small and light, inexpensive
Cons:
Slow AF, slowish aperture

This lens comes with the EOS IX-Lite APS camera. It is no longer listed on the Canon http://www.usa.canon.com/eflenses/lineup/index.html site although it is still listed on the http://www.canon-europa.com/products/products.html site. Photodo rates it a very low 2.8

I found it very useful on my Rebel2000 film body.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast AF, IS
Cons:
size/weight

Even better than the non-IS version. Works well with Canon 1.4 extender.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast AF
Cons:
size/weight

Amazing lens, if you don't need or can't afford the IS version, a great used value. Still not cheap as it is well known as a excellent lens.

 
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

ef75_300_1_
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Good zoom range, IS
Cons:
Soft, poor AF in medium and low light

At full zoom, AF hunts and hunts except in full sunlight. Very soft between 250-300mm. Wish it was better because the size/weight of this IS zoom makes it desireable.

 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast AF, Image Stabilzer, Sharpest consumer Canon zoom
Cons:
inconsistant build, some great, some not

Best all-around lens built. IS works great and lens is very sharp. I've wore one out (4 years) and couldn't live without another. My first did have "zoom creep" and front barrel looseness but didn't affect quality of pics. Second didn't have creep and has tight barrel extention.

 
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

ef_24-85_35_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Compact, fairly sharp, good zoom range, FTM focus
Cons:

Outshined by 28-135 IS. Nice when you want the smallest, lightest package with the D30/D60/10D.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast zoom (2.8), VERY fast AF, sharper than 17-35L
Cons:
kinda heavy (21oz)

Noticeably sharper than my all-time favorite D30 lens, the 17-35L, whose lack of sharpness shows up on D60/10D.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Very sharp, light, good portrait length on 1.6 factor body
Cons:
Slow AF in low light

Needed fast AF/low light lens. Not bad on a 1D but poor on D30/D60. Wish I still had it as few lenses are sharp enough to bring out the resolution abilities of the D60/10D.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast (1.4), fast AF (ring USM), FTM (full time manual focusing)
Cons:
kinda heavy (20.5 oz.)

I needed a low light lens that focuses quickly on different Eos bodies. This lens does that. With a 1D it focuses in near dark.

 
Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

24_70EX_med_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: good zoom range, close focus
Cons:
AF good but not fast

While I had this lens I was happy with it in many ways, 1) wider zoom range than L's at the time, 2) fast aperture, 3) good macro focus, 4) inexpensive.
Wanted a USM though (spoiled by Canon L's), and upgraded to a 28-70 2.8L.


 
Sigma 14mm f2.8 EX Aspherical

14mmEXhsm_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: real wide-angle for 1.6
Cons:
heavy

Had this lens for several years and when you need it, it does the job. With a D30/D60/10D it gives true super wide. Focuses very fast. No alternative this wide at a resonable price until the Sigma 15-30.
I lucked out and got a good one. VERY close focus.


 
Sigma 17-35mm f2.8-4 EX Aspherical

17_35f2_8_4EX_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $439.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast focus, fast aperture, small & light
Cons:
82mm filter

Ordered this lens when it came out 3-4 years ago but was on back order for so long, I settled on a Canon 17-35L. Later upgraded to a 16-35L.
My son got a used D30 and asked me to get a lens for it and I got a Sigma 17-35HSM. Haven't tested it on a film camera yet but on my 10d it is great.