about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: spentomuch  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add spentomuch to your Buddy List
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Aug 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $425.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, very sharp at f/2.0 - The creamy Bokeh is to die for
Cons:
It chunks into Focus ,hunts a little in low light

Got mine here on FM's B&S broad
My copy is dead on with no adjustment's
If your looking at this lens then it's probably for the DOF and or the Bokeh.
Well f/1.4 is pretty thin, and the Bokeh is best in the 50mmf/1.4 class (don't know about the Zeiss)
My take is that you should probably stay within 30-40 ft or so, this lens is not as good at real long distance's
hunt's a little in lower light.
chunks or rams into Focus.
AF is fast enough for most things on a D700
It lives at f/2.0 on my 700 very sharp there with no loss in creamy Bokeh. great contrast, good colors

There are a few short comings, but
Can't see myself letting go of this lens
Giving this Sigma a 10
As always YMMV


 
Nikon D700

D700
Review Date: Jan 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Amazing high ISO, great IQ, very fast AF, very customizable
Cons:
the whole full frame lens thing,although it will shot DX lens too, in DX mode

I jumped the gun when I bought the D700, as I mainly shot sports at the time. I needed the reach of DX so I got a D300 for that
Don't get me wrong the 700 is a very very good sport cam, if you have the long glass to go with it & the grip
but this thing is fantastic with wedding and people fotoging Smile
Recently I went to a fair at night, very low light
brought my 28-70 2.8 & 70-200 2.8 VR
And got a lot of great keepers. I Sat it on auto ISO( max 6400 ) and let it rip
If you shoot fast primes it ain't fair!
I think I'll have this camera a long time.

Thanks NIKON!


 
Nikon TC-20E II 2x AF-S

tc-20E
Review Date: Nov 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $289.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: cheap, a lot better IQ than I was hoping for
Cons:
for the price none

I got my from trenchmonkey and can tell you it is sharp on a 70-200VR wide open
On my d300/90 it gives me 600mm on my 70-200,it gets me in the game for cheap and lets me see what to aspect ( in this range ) with I move on up to a 200-400 or 400mm
It does focus slower on the D90, a litter faster on the D300 in not so good light, & I see no slowdown on my D700
Hope this helped
two thumbs up.


 
Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

1961NAS_180
Review Date: Oct 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $975.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Sharp, Sharp, Build, Price
Cons:
Big

This was/is one of Nikon's best
Very sharp, great "bokeh",It's Built like a tank too. it is a world of difference from a consumer lens.
I love to go shoot with this lens and then open up the files, I go WOW every time.
OK,- if your looking at this lens it's probably because the newer 24-70G is $600-$800 more.
I have shot with the 24, and too my eyes the 28 gives up nothing to the 24-70 accept 4mm on the wide end.
I'm glad this choice exist, with the money I've saved ,I'm buying a 35/1.8 -50/1.8 & 85/1.8 on FM


 
Nikon 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX -Nikkor

pic_001-1
Review Date: Oct 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp,sharp, good price ,lite,VR, 18-105 what a great range.
Cons:
distortion on the wide end

I have 2 of these and love 'um. Try one out against the 18-135 none VR in the store, this lens is faster to focus and sharper too.
Very sharp with some distortion on the wide end, can be fixed in post.
I've moved on to faster and much more expensive glass but my wife still uses it at weddings because she loves the range that this lens gives, with very good results

Get this kit lens with a D90 and let the fun begin


 
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

2139NAS_180
Review Date: Jun 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,799.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great pics if u have dx body
Cons:
vignetting if u have fx body

I read about the vignetting thing,,, but on fx (D700/d3)
The corners or way to soft.
I'll keep this lens for my DX bodys and get a 80-200-2.8 for my D700,or maybe nikon will come out with a new FX 70-200
(I'm holding breath)!


 
Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

ef_28-105_35
Review Date: Jun 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $180.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price
Cons:
None

When I moved to nikon, I kept 1 canon dslr and 1 lens to play around with, and this is it. Mine is the japanese version.

 
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

145_small_1_
Review Date: Oct 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $825.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 2.8 fixed, fast, sharp, not white, has a tripod collar included, cheaper, but not build cheap. IT's a WINNER
Cons:
none really so far

They shoud spilt the reviews, one for canon, and one for nikon.
the nikon version seems to have some heat problems, but the canon version not so much.
have had mine for 5 months now with no problems.have made about 65,000 shots so far.
tack sharp from 2.8-22 great in low light, turn up the iso, shoot at 2.8 and get good pic's even in bad light!
I also use the sigma x 1.4,and those are just as sharp
this lens has paid for itself many many times + I use it for some portraits and wildlife- with (x2.0),- -I love this lens! -- And yes i have shot the very good canon 70-200 2.8L
PROS- the thing is dead fast and looks great.- $300.00 less than canon 2.8
It (included lens hood, carry case, and tripod collar) something canon doesn't.
CONS -front cap ,I use a canon 77mm front cap. $3.50 cheap fix Smile

Save yourself some money and get the Sigma. You won't be sorry.