about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: smac  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add smac to your Buddy List
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jan 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very good image quality, robust build.
Cons:
Large and heavy

I wanted to be blown away by this lens, based on all the reivews I had read stating superior resolution and contarst. When the 1st copy I bought didn't live up to expectations, I sent it back and bought another. It is a competent perfromer, no doubt, but it is not the sharpest lens in my collection. It skews toward a warmer color than other L lenses I own. At 1.4 it is soft at corners and just accepatble at center. It improves as it is stopped down, by f4 it matches, but does not exceed the resolution of my stellar 24-104mm f4. My 24mm f1.4 beats the 35mm f1.4 by far, at every aperture. The 35 beats the 50mm f1.4 by about the same margin. A very good lens and I'm keeping it as it fills a needed gap for very low light work where the 24 is too wide and 85 is too tight. 5D, raw.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2005 Recommend? | Price paid: $589.00

 
Pros: Extremely sharp! Light and compact for the range. Rugged build.
Cons:

This is my 2nd one of these. I sold the 1st one to get the 70-200 f2.8 IS. The IS is very handy, but I found that due to the size and weight of the f2.8, I didn't carry it with me everywhere I went, like I do with the f4. So I bought another f4 and while I had the two together, I ran some resolution tests with consistant standards - raw, tripod, flat plane, etc. What I found was that the f4 was actually sharper at all lengths and apertures and had slightly better color and contrast. And my f2.8 was a really sharp one. If you don't need the stop (I have fast primes) or the IS (is this in the next f4?) this version of the 70-200 is OUTSTANDING!

 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Full frame, big bright viewfinder, stunning resolution, very low noise, quality build. Feature set. This is a breakthough camera techologically.
Cons:

The first day I shot with this camera, I felt that the tool had become invisible and that there was a direct link between the subject and my vision. It's been like that every day since. I've been waiting for this camera since digital began. I love shooting with it! I've had many cameras since getting my 1st Nikon F in 1968: Nikon MF and AF, Canon EOS film and digital, large format, Leicas, medium format and I can say without hesitation that this is the finest camera I've ever owned or used. It took me 3 trys to get there, though. The 1st one had a CF card formatting problem and the 2nd one had a big fat hot pixel. The ergonomics fit me (large hands, glasses) perfectly and I love the sound and feel. Metering is right on. Focus is fast and accurate.

On the next model, I'd like to have eye controlled focus, mirror lockup (rarely used) on the camera body and slightly lighter. I liked the pop up flash on my 20D and A2E, but I'm using the 580EZ to much better effect. But if this were my last DSLR, I'd be happy for the rest of my days.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,575.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, great IS.
Cons:
good things come in big packages

The optical performance of this lens is spectacular. Sharp, excellent contrast, rich true color. The IS works flawlessly. I'm not as steady as I may have been once, so I upgraded to this from the 70-200mm f4 and am glad I did. It's a very fast handling lens and works well w/ TC. Go ahead, you only live once.

 
Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

efs60_28macro_usm
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $469.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ultra sharp, fast focusing, 1:1
Cons:

This is the perfect macro, bar none! It's the only thing I miss about a crop camera. Compact, light, quality build, excellent optics. Please make one of these for FF. Fantastic!!!

 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $229.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons:
slow, noisy AF, only goes to 1:2

I couldn't get past the slow focus and the noisy AF drive. It sounded like a coffee grinder. It is sharp, but the necessity of adding an extension tube to get to 1:1 made it inconvenient. I so want to like this lens, I've actually had 2 of them.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $565.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, great build, excellent color and contrast
Cons:

A truly great lens! I sold mine to get the 2.8 IS, but miss it's size and weight.

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, fast, compact.
Cons:

This is a great lens, extremely sharp, fast focusing, easily handled. I didn't use it much, but find that I shoot at 200mm often with my 70-200mm. I prefered the 1st series of this lens because it had a built in lens hood.

 
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

ef_24-85_35_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $325.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Compact, great focal range
Cons:
Soft and slow

I really wanted to like this lens, as it covered my favorite focal lengths, but it just wasn't quite sharp enough to satisfy.

 
Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

ef_28-105_35
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $329.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, fairly compact, very versatile and surprisingly sharp.
Cons:

This was my 1st Canon lens, purchased at the recommendation of a National Geographic photographer (they prefer to travel light and unobtrusive) and I really loved it. It was very sharp and easy to use. I no longer have it (thank you thieves), but it has a fond place in my memories. Sharper than my 28-135mm.

 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $429.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: A value priced zoom with decent IS and decent optical quality. Versatile.
Cons:
Soft, slow and gravity induced extension.

It's surprisingly good for a moderate zoom lens. But it wasn't sharp enough or fast enough for me and I kept in only a short time. 10-15 years ago this quality wasn't even attainable in a zoom lens, so we've come a very long way.

 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: It's the only way to get wide on a crop camera
Cons:
Laws of physics, optics and economics apply. Not critically sharp, low contrast, slower focus

I prefer wide most of the time and with a crop camera, this is the equivalent of 16-35mm. I was so happy to get back to FF and get rid of this lens. It served my needs, but not my desires.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $325.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, fast focus, compact
Cons:

This is one of those sleeper lenses. I go without it for a while and then it surprises me with it's great quality when I pick it up again. I shoot mostly low (no) light interiors with it and it just excells. I never considered the f1.2L version because based on results I've seen in comparison, I believe this lens is optically comparable or (dare I say) better. I also didn't feel the desire to have a lens hanging off my neck that weighed more than a Buick.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $469.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ultra sharp!
Cons:

I'm on my 3rd one of these. The 1st was non-USM and didn't find it's way to my bag very often. The 2nd was sacrificed to make room for the EF-S 60mm (great lens!). But now I'm back to FF and this lens (#3) has taken on a new life. It is superb! I will never part with it (until IS comes along) and it goes with me everywhere. The benchmark of macro lenses.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp! Great IS.
Cons:

I had the non IS before this one and whereas they may be comparable optically (I think this is better), the IS makes it a much more useful and versatile lens in the field. Excellent w/ TC-1.4 I love it!

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP!!!
Cons:

This is the sharpest lens I have ever used, bar none. And I've used a lot! I shoot a lot of night int wide open and it is superlative beyond description.

 

Page:  1 · 2  next