about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: slee915  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add slee915 to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jan 1, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: IS, range, build
Cons:
everything else

If someone want 1 lens on a full-frame camera, this lens is most often the answer at FM. However, I couldn't give this recommendation.

At 24mm, there is too much distortion, and it appears to be not as "wide" as 24-70f/2.8.

It is also very soft after 70mm. Sharpness is not that great at the rest of the zoom range also.

If someone wants to buy a FF and put a slow f/4 on it; I'd recommend buying a crop camera and get a few fast primes or 17-55 f/2.8 or 15-85



 
Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS

35f2is
Review Date: Dec 19, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $520.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IS, f/2, sharpness, contrast, light weight, beautiful bokeh
Cons:
strong vignetting

This is a great little lens. I settled with this over the 35L and sigma f/1.4 because of IS and the light weight. I am willing to tradeoff 1 stop at this aperture & FL (e.g. won't do it at f/2.8 or at 50mm) with IS.

The pictures are very sharp, color rendition is extremely good; comparable to my 24-70II. This is a L quality lens w/o the L build and sealing.

The bokeh is excellent with the 8-blade, better than the old (5-blade) and even the 35L IMO. The 35L has busy bokeh while the 35f/2 is smooth.

The main issue is vignetting, it is very noticeable. I usually overexpose about 2/3 stop in order to cut down the darkness around the corner and fix overall exposure in PP.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Jun 26, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, fast AF, great for events & kids candids, weight reduction from v1
Cons:
price, no IS, lock button useless

This is the best and most useful zoom I owned. Prime quality contrast, color and sharpness.

I use this lens for multiple assignments for my kids school events. It nails focus quickly and produces awesome pictures for all events. Super sharp, high micro-contrast and awesome color.

I wish the lock button can be used at all zoom length so I can lock the lens at 1 focal length but it only works at 24mm.

At this price, it should have IS. But the weight reduction from v1 makes it much easier to carry.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark III

5DIIIs
Review Date: Jun 20, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast and accurate AF, build, full frame, light weight, image quality, silent mode
Cons:
price, black AF points, reliability

This is the best camera I ever owned. Takes fantastic pictures and nails the focus 95+% of the time for my usage.

The fact that it breaks with my 200f/2 and I have to send it back is a hassle.

My shutter died after 400 shots, have to send it back twice to get it fixed.


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2L IS USM

ef200_f2lisu_586x225_1_
Review Date: Apr 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, unbelievable color, contrast and bokeh; excellent 280mm f/2.8 with 1.4x TC III
Cons:
None

Sharpest lens I ever owned. The background blur and bokeh is unreal. If you want the best, this is the best.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: May 3, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast AF, bokeh, IS, sharpness
Cons:
None

Super fast AF, the 4-stop IS works as advertized. The lens is very sharp, works great with 1.4x TC. Absolutely no complaint, worth the full price.

 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Dec 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ, contrast, sharpness, IS, covers the general purpose focal length on a 1.6x body.
Cons:
No lens hood included, focus ring too loose, slight vignetting at 17mm f/2.8. Should have been an L and built like it at this price. Dust.

This is the highest quality general purpose lens I have used on a 1.6x body.

At overlapping focal lengths, my 17-55mm f/2.8 is sharper than the 16-35mm f/2.8L, the 24-70 mm f/2.8L and the 24-105 f/4L lenses I used to own.

I can shoot at a shutter speed of focal-length/5 with IS on this lens. So at 17mm, I can get sharp pics at 1/3sec. For me IS is very important, it lets me (1) captures more ambient light in low light indoors, and (2) get more depth of field with slower f-stops without using a tripod.

At this price, I'm a little disappointed with the non-L built quality and no lens hood included. But once you see the photos, you will forget these quickly.

Dust is an issue, I noticed some, but they also seems to go away.