about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: sivrajbm  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sivrajbm to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: Aug 24, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Af Speed, 45 af points, Build, Viewfinder, 4mp, 8fps, cf's, pf's, beautiful film like images, 1/500 flash sync, 1/16,000 shutter speed (faster than a speeding bullet), firewire.
Cons:
No display zoom, battery life, requires computer to set pf's the first time.

The old girl can still strut her stuff. This camera is the best 4mp camera you could ever buy. I picked this one up for a song. No banding, the latest firmware and a good battery. It came with all the pieces from the box. It had just under 60K on the shutter and clean as a whistle. It belong to a Dr., who shot his kids soccer games and stuff till I bought it. It makes a good backup for my Mk2n. Just nail the exposure and you've struck gold, if I'm off on exposure Noiseware Pro can fix it. Played with one of these years ago and just didn't buy it. I'm glad I bought this one. If you can find a good clean example of the original beast don't be afraid to give it a go. People say don't crop or you'll lose a lot with just 4mp. Shoot tight and crop tighter and it all works out fine. This is the camera that really put Canon on the map.

 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

1d_mkii_n
Review Date: Jul 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, Handling, AF, Size, Weight, Balance, Customization Features, Long lasting battery, Big bright view finder, It's a beautiful piece of equipment. I'm stopping here before someone thinks I like this CAMERA... :)
Cons:
Camera is to light :) Nothing I can think of.

After shooting film for years I thought digital was just for fun with my first digital the Kodak DC290. Then I got a Sony F828, I thought all was good, just a little slow. Then a friend let me see his new 20D. I bought one and a grip that next week, then 30D, 1D and now the "N". Man this camera is the BOMB. It is so much better than I expected. I thought I was happy when I opened the box, but when I saw the first pictures from the "N" I knew this is where I was supposed to be.

I like the bigger screen and the new features for the dual cards of the "N". This camera tracks better than the 1D and so much better than the 30D, my sports keeper rate went up 20-30%. The buffer on the "N" is great the 1D just didn't have enough room, thou the speed was almost the same.

I was amazed at the AF speed and the FPS, the 30D is no slouch but this is it. I almost bought a Mk3 but after hereing about the focus issues I bought the "N" and a new Toshiba a205-4639 notebook. I'm plannig on buying a second "N" and just using 1-series cameras from here on. I don't have a problem with the size or the weight of this camera it fits me perfectly even with large lenses it's perfectly balanced.

This is the best camera I've ever owned bar none. I've had it about 6 weeks now and I'm glad I bought it. Don't try it unless you are ready to buy it, it's just that good.


 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: Jun 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,319.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, sure, steady
Cons:
dim lcd

I have the 20d and bought a 30d. My 20d is my back up now. The 30d is not only quieter but also faster on reading and writing to the card. The focus is faster also much steadier in AI. I also like the spot metering. The Bigger lcd is a big plus. This was a good addition. It depends on what you need if you should take the bait. I needed a second body for the wedding season this one works at least until September.......
Everybody that complains about wanting more in this camera SPEND the money on a Mark II of your choice, just stop ragging on this camera, it does what it's suppose to do at this price point (it allows you to takes great picture),


 
Bogen/Manfrotto 3021 Tripod Legs

product_83
Review Date: Feb 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $160.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Strong and sturdy piece of equipment. Quick adjustments, fully adjustable legs.
Cons:
nada

I bought the BPRO model after a near tragic episode with my toy tripod. I bought it with the 488RC4 head. I really like the stability of the combo. I'm 6ft tall and this combo puts my 20dw/grip at eye level, man I LOVE this thing.

 
Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

05_03_1_
Review Date: Dec 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $713.15 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, Sharp focus, excellent color, sturdy construction, tracks well on my 20D. Did I mention FAST....
Cons:
None

This is my first Sigma lense.
It is everything some said and more.
I rented the Canon & Sigma to test. Guess which one I kept.
I love the speed and sharpness of this lense.
My copy is a match for the Canon I rented recently.
If you are in the market and don't have or don't want to spend more this lense is the bomb. The 120-300/2.8 is excellent also. I'll look at more Sigma's in addition to the Tamron's in the Future.

Happy New Year to all....


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Nov 29, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,499.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: fast usm that's about it.
Cons:
not the sharpest lense for the money. not sharp @ 2.8 so exactly why buy this lense. Ok @4.0 again what the he**.

I took this one back.
I'll just keep my little Tamron 17-35.
My Tamron was slightly sharper @ 2.8, better @ 4.0 and equal every where else. The Canon is faster focusing and constant with a warm tone. I thought if it was sharper than my Tamron I'd keep it. Not a chance. The Tamron is a much better buy for the money.


 
Tamron 17-35MM F/2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical (IF)

1735mm
Review Date: Nov 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $469.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: f2.8, speed, sharpness, color, contrast, accurate focus did I mention SHARP.
Cons:
focus ring rotates

The best that under 5 bills can buy.
I recently had an opportunity to buy a 16-35L.
I took it back, this little Tamron more than held it's own against the "L". I just can't see enough of a difference to justify paying another 12 bills for such a marginal improvement. The "L" was slighty faster, but not sharper @2.8 so what's the use.
This lens is still the bomb in my book. I couldn't replace it and I tried.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Jul 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $89.95 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast lens, good sharpness, price, lightweight
Cons:
other than plastic mount, none

This lens is a decent lense. Fast focusing, sharp, lightweight.
I really don't care that it's all plastic, I care about the picture quality. This lense does a good job, not bad wide open. At about f2.5 and beyond this little sucker cooks. I can say I was very surprised, I tried and liked it so I'll keep it. One of the few Canon lenses that pasted my tests.


 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: May 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,352.15 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast Autofocus, 5 fps, custom functions, available lense selectons, 9 point focus selection, nice size and heft, did I mention fast auto focus!!!
Cons:
no iso reading in viewfinder, single or all erase function, even my f828 lets me select multiple files.

This is my first digital slr. I tried the d70 and decided I liked the 20d better. I haven't regretted my decision, this is a very good camera.
Most of the articles don't do it justice. You just have to try it for yourself. I've had this camera for 2 months now and have taken over 2400 pictures. I bought it with the 18-55 kit lense when dell had a sale. It's not a bad lense, I basically got it for free.
I have added 3 Tamrons to the mix and the results have been great. I bought the 17-35, 28-75 and a 75-300 till I can get my sigma 70-200. I also bought the bg-e2 since I've got large hands the grip made all the difference in the world for a steady grip with the 75-300.
I also bought the 580ex flash, it took some reading and practice to get the most from the flash but the time was well worth it.
I shot a wedding as the second photographer with it about a month ago. I used the 28-75 for the most part. All the pictures came out great.
I'm in the process of getting some studio light to do more portrait work as I've had a lot of requests for my photo work.
If you're in the market for a new digital slr this is the one to get, most bang for the buck.
Don't be afraid to try the third part lenses especially the Tamrons I mentioned the are a great value and good stuff also.


 
Tamron 75-300MM F/4-5.6 LD Macro AF

75300mm
Review Date: Apr 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $145.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tamron Quality, lightweight, smooth zoom and focus ring
Cons:
slow focusing, equal to the canon 75-300.

Bought this lense as a tester against the Canon 75-300.
At 120.00 bucks less than the Canon this lense beat it at everything from 75-F13 all the way to 300-f45. The Tamron has much better feel and is much smoother. CA on the Tamron is better controled. There is no speed difference between the two lenses, they both hunt some. This lense is a much better value than the Canon. If you need a decent lense in this range get this one not the Canon. Or you could save your money up for the Sigma 70-200 2.8 or the Canon 70-200 2.8L. The Canon goes back on Monday. I'll keep the Tamron till I can get one of the other two. It'll probably be the Sigma for me.


 
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM

ef75_300usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 9, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $265.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Canon name, lightweight
Cons:
Micro USM not the good stuff, slow focusing hunts a bit, stiff gritty zoom and focus ring, plenty of CA, not the sharpest pencil in the box.

Bought this lense as a tester against the Tamron 75-300.
At 120.00 bucks less the Tamron beat this lense at everything from 75-F13 all the way to 300-f45. The Tamron has much better feel and is much smoother. CA on the Tamron is better controled. There is no speed difference between the two lenses, they both hunt some. Save your money on this one, either get the Tamron or save up for the Sigma 70-200 or the Canon L. This one is going back on Monday I'll keep the Tamron till I can get one of the other two. It'll probably be the Sigma for me.


 
Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 XR Di Zoom AF

28-75mm
Review Date: Mar 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $359.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness and contrast @ 4.0 very useable photos @ 2.8. Solid construction, good weight and feel, smooth action, fast focusing. Price verses Canon L series for the same quality photos.
Cons:
Not quite as fast as USM but I haven't missed a shot yet

I bought this lense for my 20D after having used Tamrons before. This is an excellent lense, great color, sharp as a tack.
This is lense makes for a good walk around and low light lense.
After a lot of trials and research of other lenses, "L's" included I bought this lense. You can pay more but it's not going to get much better than this.


 

Page:  1 · 2