about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: sivrajbm  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sivrajbm to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

canon1dmarkiv
Review Date: Sep 5, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build Quality, Speed of AF, Speed writing to cards, Rear LCD, Video (who knew I'd like it), 16mpx, Images straight from camera, High ISO...
Cons:
Vertical grip buttons seem to be actuate easier & are more sensitive. (could be my paws)

Okay totally in LOVE with this camera. I've been playing with these for a couple of months now and I am TOTALLY happy with my purchase. This camera is crazy GOOD. All the things I liked about the Mk3's plus Better rear LCD, more megapixels & video. I didn't think I cared about having video, now I use it (Who Knew) Smile. I think I may keep these for a while, at least until a used 1Dx becomes reasonably priced :D...

 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III

1dsmk3
Review Date: Oct 9, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, viewfinder, battery, LV, CF, AF, files
Cons:
I waited so long selling my 1DsMk2's

I had not planned on buying this camera. I really liked the files I got from the 1DsMk2. What can I say, when a good deal comes your way jump on it with both feet.
I couldn't be happier with this beast. The speed both shooting and reviewing is faster. The VF is bigger and brighter, the battery lasts longer. The files are just as beautiful and the Ds2 and better noise control to boot.
My only regret is waiting so long to upgrade to this body.


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Oct 9, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, handling, build, size, battery, Hi ISO performance
Cons:
19 selectable AF points

I got on the Mk3 train late in the game after selling my Mk2N's. I picked up a couple of these 3's for a great price and couldn't be happier.
Both bodies needed MAing to get the most from my lenses.
All the things I liked about my 2N's carry over here. I like the one button actuation and menu of the 3's (never thought the 2N's were a problem here). I still get the same keeper rate as the 2N's so I'm happy with that.
I like the Hi ISO performance and the speed boost writing to and viewing. I've been playing with these for several months now and I am very happy with them.


 
Epson R800

R800
Review Date: Jun 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast prints with great IQ. CD printing, roll feeder, portable. Typical Epson quality pigment pints.
Cons:
Ink costs

I just recently got a R800 on the B/S to complement my R1800. I really like having two printers that I can profile to double my print output. This printer does just as good of a job as it's bigger brother. I got mine for a song if you need a small high quality printer this is a great one to get.

 
Canon Extender EF 2x II

Extender_2x2_1_
Review Date: Jun 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $215.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Doulbes your affective focal length. Works great on my 300/2.8is & 135L, no loss of IQ, speed not a issue. A slight IQ loss wide open on my 70-200/2.8is, still more thank acceptable.
Cons:
2 stop light loss, it is a 2x converter :)

Wow, I must have got a really good tc and deal here. My first 2x has exceed my expectations. My Canon curse has been lifted for some time now Smile. This tc is excellent on my 300 & 135. IQ is great almost like it's not there. There's a slight down grade in IQ on my 70-200 but not much. Overall I'm very happy with this tc, along with the 1.4 I've got extended range covered. Very pleased.

Jarvis


 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, Sharp, Excellent IQ, Mad Bokem, Built like a tank, Beautiful Build Quality...WOW worth every dime...
Cons:
Doesn't come with CP and a nice storage place in hard case or nice soft case, picky huh :-)

Ok, first of all got this beauty for a GREAT price. (Still had that new lens smell Smile) Totally unmarked with all the parts, UT date code. I've shot and played with it for a month before I gave this review. This lens is the BOMB, it's fast to focus and EXTREMELY sharp. I can see why everyone raves about this lens. I shot some HS Football with a non-is version and knew I had to have my own. Almost bought a Sigma 300, then a non-is, then I found this one on here. This is my first Great White and it's excellent it also takes the 1.4tc extremely well. I bought a nice Domke J-612 and Canon CP for it. I'm planning to get a 2x II before LLBB season gets started. All I can say is WOW it's worth every dime...

 
Canon Speedlite 580EX II

580exii
Review Date: Jun 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast & powerful, steel shoe and weather proofing
Cons:
Locking mechanisim, master/slave buried in the menu, bigger and heavier than the 580v1.

Fast and powerful, steel shoe and weather proofing. Now for the bad stuff. Locking mechanisim, master/slave buried in the menu, bigger and heavier than the 580v1.

 
Canon Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2

st-e2
Review Date: Jun 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $169.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Makes complex flash setups easy. Provides focus assist in low light. Can be used on camera while flash is on bracket.
Cons:
None really

Makes complex flash setups easy. Provides focus assist in low light. Can be used on camera while flash is on bracket. A very worthwhile gadget very useful...

 
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: Jun 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $240.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great quality, only one stop light loss, works great on my 135L & 70-200/2.8is, weather sealed
Cons:
one stop light loss, slows lens focus slightly

Works great with my 135L and 70-200/2.8is. Slow AF slightly, Provides excellent IQ.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jun 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, excellent color, magnificent bokem, great AF, bigger than I expected, light weight, focus limiter, black body, sharper than my 85/1.8.
Cons:
none really, if I had to pick, bigger than I expected, huge hood. With hood on same size but lighter than my 24-70L, focus ring is large and kind of in the way (too easy to move focus).

WOW. I've wanted this lens for some time, it didn't disappoint.
Fast focus, sharp as a tack, beautiful color, great bokem. I got a great deal on this lens because the original owner wanted the 85L, so I help him out Smile. I have to watch my hand because I moved the focus ring when shooting it the first few times (First I thought it had a focus problem).
This lens was bigger than I thought, it's even bigger with the hood on. All in all I'm very happy with this purchase. My "L" curse has been fully broken...YEAH for me Smile


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 1.4, 1.4, 1.4 did I say 1.4. Fast, sharp, good bokem, good IQ.
Cons:
None, some user error @ 1.4

I haven't shot at 1.4 since my film days. I really like this little lens. 1.4 is thin in close so watch your focus point, any kind of movement and things look soft. I seem to have a very good copy sharp at 1.4 excellent at 1.6 and beyond. I'm glad bought this little gem. I got the hood also for more flare & lens protection.
One of the best values in Canon lenses. This baby works well on all three of my Cameras.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Mar 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $470.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast focusing, great IQ, quiet, FTMF, great color, great build.
Cons:
not 2.8 but then again neither is the price

Ok, I tried not to like this lens. I wanted the 16-35L II, I got this one for a great price, just couldn't pass it up. I may still get the 16-35L II but later, this lens does everything but shoot @ 2.8. It is fast and sharp, my two favorite things in a lens. I've continued to be free of my Canon curse. My last three "L's" have all been SOTB (sharp out the box). Don't ask how many were not, it offends some people. Anyway try it you might like it. Now I can go for the 135L next.

 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II

1dsmarkii
Review Date: Feb 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 16.7 mp, large bright viewfinder, dual memory slots, Handling, AF, IQ, Custom features, Size and Weight, Solid, long lasting battery, 4fps
Cons:
None really, if I had to be picky no dual writing like my Mk2N, 4fps

Ok after going up the Canon food chain I've reached the top. I decided last year to shoot with 1-series only after getting spoiled by the performance of the original beast (1D). That led to a Mk2N and now this, man I've got to get more work now Smile.

The images and the detail that this camera puts out are just AWESOME. I'm glad I went with the 1DsMk2 instead of a 1DMk3, I just don't think it could get much better than this. I rarely used the 8.5 fps so 10 really meant nothing to me. Resolution and detail is what I wanted and this camera delivers in SPADES. I can now get much larger prints with much less work and have lots of cropping room.

I doubled the ram in my computers to help handle the extra load this camera brings to the table and all is well. Recently did a school dance and some portraits with this camera and all I can say is WOW. Great upgrade, great camera. I bought it from another FMer who upgraded to the Ds3. The camera had just come back from Canon after being cleaned and adjusted to factory spec.

He gave me a great deal with everything in the box, 2-4gb Extreme cards & a RRS bracket plus the service warranty.
I'm a very happy camper.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Oct 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,474.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Speed, handling, bokem, IQ with good copy, balance on 1-series, focus limiter, IS
Cons:
tripod mount I like the Sigma mount better. It's not black

This lense along with the 24-70 and the 16-35 have not been very good to me. Soft copies abound at every turn. Finally a sharp copy. I wanted the IS for low light wedding and event work, now I have it. I have a very good copy of the Sigma that I can let go of now. The King is dead long live the King...!!!

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Oct 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $314.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Speed, handling, IQ, bokem, sharp, vibrant colors and bright viewfinder image.
Cons:
Hood not included

This is my second 85/1.8 the first died in a tragic second story balcony accident. I really like this lense, it fast and sharp. It's the perfect portrait lenses on a 1-series camera. For all that it does Canon could have put a red ring around it and no one would think anything different it's that good. To get the most from it outside in bright light get the hood it helps kill flare and improve color, contrast and saturation. This little lense is a real winner.

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Oct 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,039.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Speed, handling, build, bokem, smooth operation, IQ with a good copy, weight and balance on a !-series
Cons:
Price compared to Tamron 28-75

After several tries I finally have a good copy of this lens. I had soft copies before but this one was as sharp and at some aps sharper (2.8) than my Tamron. I had a very good copy of the Tamron. I shoot weddings and special events and really wanted the focus speed of the Canon. The only fault to the Tamron is it can be a little slow to focus. if you can't get this lense get the Tamron save up your money and decide later. If you go for this one and get a good copy off the bat you'll be a happy camper indeed...Finally, I'm happy

 

Page:  1 · 2  next