about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: sdgphoto  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sdgphoto to your Buddy List
Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM

113_small
Review Date: Jan 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp even wide open at f1.4, smaller and lighter than 35 f1.4 L, colors vibrant and pop, ring autofocus (HSM), has full-time manual override, flare and chromatic aberration controlled very well, amazingly low price for this quality lens
Cons:
Extreme borders soft until f5.6 or so, shading and some barrel distortion evident, close focusing distance a bit far

Tried both the 30 f1.4 EX and 35 f1.4 L and kept the Sigma. Optical performance is basically a wash (I'd say the Sigma is sharper actually). The center sharpness at f1.4 is as good as I have seen, and the colors really "pop". This lens is my most used prime on my 40D. I fully agree with this review http://photo.net/equipment/canon/40D that mating the 40D to the Sigma 30 and the Canon 17-55 IS is about as good a setup as they come. In fact, it's what I use. The Sigma 30 is a flat-out performer.

 
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX SD

atx124afprodx
Review Date: Sep 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great focal range for APS-C, built like a Hummer but refined as a Porsche, sharpness and colors are superb, distortions very well controlled, quick AF, comes with hood and 3-year warranty.
Cons:
Some CA wide open

I've used many lenses over the years, but this is one of the best. Not much else to say. Great lens.

 
Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 DC OS

18-200OS
Review Date: Aug 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Focal range / Nice contrast and overall sharpness / Stabilization very effective / Build quality
Cons:
No hypersonic AF or full-time manual / Wish it were a 67mm thread (and not 72mm) / Wish it were a f5.6 at 200mm (and not f6.3)

What a nice lens. Performs well and has great range. The OS is very effective. Well done, Sigma.

 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Apr 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: No other lens that zooms to 300mm with steady f2.8, very sharp wide open, nice colors, bokeh is very smooth and pleasing, build quality very high, quick and quiet autofocus, can use a 1.4tc with great results, long warranty.
Cons:
Wish magnification was higher at 300mm, heavy lens, price seems to be rising every week.

I researched this lens for a long time before purchasing it; I have no regrets. Especially helpful in my decision to buy was the Shutterbug review here http://shutterbug.com/equipmentreviews/lenses/0204sb_sigma/ and LightRules excellent site. I shoot sports with the lens wide open all day long and it delivers amazing image quality. Thumbs up.

 
Sigma 100-300mm f4 EX IF HSM APO

100-300if_1_
Review Date: Oct 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build quality, Excellent image quality, Use it with confidence wide open throughout 100mm-300mm, Fast HSM AF, Full-Time Manual focusing, Nice bokeh, Takes 1.4xTC well, Price.
Cons:
Use a monopod/tripod for sharpest images (not much to complain about with this lens).

This lens is a true gem, and this is coming from someone who has some good "L" glass in the same range. I use the "DG" version and I'm always impressed with the quality of the images and the solid build.

 
Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 XR Di Zoom AF

28-75mm
Review Date: Jun 11, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $349.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Overall it's a good lens (optically) for the money, lightweight, fairly pleasing bokeh, good flare resistance, nice colors, fairly sharp.
Cons:
Not the sharpest wide open of the standard zooms, better at 28mm than 75mm, cheap-feeling build, AF noisy/slow/rotates externally, tends to hunt a lot in lowlight, not really wide enough on a crop body.

Good lens but the build quality and AF are sorely lacking. Optically it's nice but nothing really "blew me away." I wish it would have worked out but I'll look at the 24-xx lenses and wider now.

 
Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

24_70EX_med_1_
Review Date: May 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $395.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super colors and sharpness, bokeh is nice.
Cons:
AF noise is a little buzzy.

My most used lens now (replaced 28-70L).

 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Apr 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp (center and edge), colors really "pop", build quality, silent AF (HSM), has a focus-limit switch, true 1:1 macro, comes with tripod collar/hood/carry pouch, great working distance, 4-year warranty, price is very reasonable, focus ring is smooth, large, and grippy, love the bokeh (even stopped down slightly).
Cons:
EX finish can scratch easily.

This lens has very few optical flaws. It's very sharp from center to edge, and the colors it renders are fantastic. Distortions and vignetting are basically non-existent with this lens. I have many lenses, including a sharp 70-200IS copy, and this lens is slightly better across the board optically. It can be used as a tight/tele-portrait lens as well as a dedicated macro. It's simply one of the best lenses I've ever used.