about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: rslee  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rslee to your Buddy List
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: Jul 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $279.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Steller performance
Cons:
None

If you are in need for 1.4x, look no further. This is it!

 
Tokina 28-80mm f/2.8 AT-X 280 AF PRO

atx280afpro
Review Date: Jul 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Build, Price, and FEEL
Cons:
Front Focusing, CA

I got this used on Ebay.

I had it serviced at Tokina, USA to make sure everything is in working order. After getting it back, I ran series of test against Canon 24-70L.

For the price, this is an excellent lens. Aside from CA issue, picture quality is almost as good as Canon 24-70L. However, it front focused a bit and could be corrected had I sent it one more time.

Instead, I ended up selling and keeping the Canon 24-70L. This was 6 months ago.

Now, I still miss this lens for the FEEL. Yes, feeling will not help on the IQ but it sure helps in motivation department Smile

I might just pick up another one.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Jul 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,649.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: AF, Sharp, IS, Contrast, Color, and everything else.
Cons:
Nothing really.

It lives on my 1D2N.

I love everything about it -- even the weight. It is perfect balance when mounted on 1D series or with Body+Grip.

Picture quality rivals good primes.

Yes, IS is worth the extra money IMO.



 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Jul 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Build, Sharp, and Fast
Cons:
Weight - I actually like it as long as I am not hiking with it.

It took me while to post a review for this lens. I guess I was having too much fun with it. One of my favorite lens. I canít say enough good things about it. I also own 24-105L. They are equally nice but I notice that I am using 24-70 more.

It appears that many people have different experiences with this lens. I guess I am lucky to have a good copy on the first shot. For those who are reading these reviews, please take in to a consideration that more dissatisfied customers will be likely to post a review than the satisfied customers. I have read all the available reviews on this forum before I purchased all my equipment. 10-15% bad reviews never bothered me.

If you use this focal length, get it!!



 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Feb 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharpness, price, and weight
Cons:
Needed a trip to Canon to get it right.

Initially mine had an issue of CA even in the center. I took it in for a warranty service two weeks ago (I live 20min away from Canon USA.) The Service Detail says "Replaced front lens unit, lens ass'y group, checked projection, lens centering and all funtion to factory specs." This is a long list for a brand new lens! They could have given me new lens instead. However, Canon USA people very nice and professional. I got the lens back in 7 days.

The lens is in perfect working order and it produces super sharp images. I am very satisfied with the result I am getting. I have rated 9 only because it needed the trip Canon.

My suggestion: when in doubt, send it in for a check up!



 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Feb 10, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Much better after an adjustment from Canon USA
Cons:
Fact that I had to had it serviced

This is my second review. As much as I was satisfied with the lens initially. there were some things not quiet right about this lens when compare to my other L lenses mainly the issues discussed in the reviews below though not as drastic as some have described.

I was taking in my 50mm f/1.4 to Canon USA for CA issue two weeks ago (I live 20min away from Canon USA), and decided to bring my 24-105 anyways. They were very nice and professional. They said they would check everything out just to make sure.

Last week (7 days after) I got both lenses back and I am very pleased. The Service Details says "Adjusted Best Focus Point, Cleaned Elements, Projection Test, CK/ADJ/LUB/ All Functions to Factory Specs."

Now, I have a hard time choosing between this and my 24-70L on many situations. Picture quality is almost identical to my 24-70L even at f/4 in all focal length (24-70mm). Added bonus IS, extra 35mm reach, and light weight certainly helps.

This lens stays in my travel bag and 24-70L stays in my full gear bag.

My suggestions to those who have the same feeling as I did is to send it to Canon for a check up. My experience with Canon USA has been very pleasant & satisfying and I will continue to remain a devoted Canon customer for a long time.


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Dec 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,199.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Handy IS, Relatively Sharp, Light Weight, Fast AF, and Excellent Build Quality.
Cons:
Price

I have been reading the entire reviews on this lens not just from FM but from all over the web. Needless to say, there were many confusing opinions on this product. I decided to see for myself and pick up the lens last week from a local shop.

After using this lens for a week, I am compelled to express my opinion.

As many have indicated, it is purely personal preference. I think this is an excellent lens for what it is designed for. It does what it supposed to do very well with certain limitations.

After comparing against Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 (my favorite), Canon 17-40L, 70-200 f/4 and 50 f/1.4 on a sturdy tripod, I came up with same conclusion as many have expressed.
It has its weaknesses despite the attractive features. Yes, the sharpness could be better but acceptable.

Over all, I am happy with the lens and this will be the main general purpose lens. For those who are still wondering about this lens, I suggest that you should try for yourself.