about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: riversen  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add riversen to your Buddy List
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_
Review Date: Mar 6, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $255.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good lens for the price... nice features for a steal
Cons:
Yeah, things could be said, but NOT at this price. It's like comparing a Honda to Rolls Royce

This is a great lens for the price. Please, for $255, do not expect 'L' quality... but do expect great shots for some surprisingly good glass. The base is plastic connection works, the IS works, and the focus works in decent lighting. If you photographing candles or insides of church for a big publication, then you are not going to use this anyway... so don't expect it to be a 27-70mm f/2.8L or 70-200mm f/2.8L lens. It is not, but for $255, it is downright amazing. Remember, you get what you pay for and for the price... I got a little more with this lens. Nice cheap lens that gets the job done.

 
Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

rebel_xti
Review Date: Dec 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $625.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is a pretty great little camera for the price and for what it aims to do. I think you have to have realistic expectations for $400 to $550. This is NOT a 30D or 5D or any of the bigger cameras.
Cons:
I wish it had spot metering and that Canon would finally give us something so basic with a firmware upgrade. Ugh!

I like the camera. The ISO is pretty good for the technology. I know that we can sit down and wait a week and the all of technology will be replaced by the bigger and better. I think you will like this camera if you are on a budget or just need a cheap 2nd camera. Also, if you don't absolutely have to have spot metering, this is also good. Yes, the Xsi has better ISO range and can certainly out perform the Xti... but isn't that what should happen with newer technology? I highly recommend this camera.

 
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: Jun 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $449.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic lens for a fantastic price at an aperture of f/2.8... WOW! Great focus, tact sharp, and decent build.
Cons:
Yes, it is a bit noisier than Canon's USM motors, but it really isn't that bad. In all, there is very little negative I have to say about this lens.

I have to continue my shots, but what I have taken so far are very nice. I like the f/2.8 and the sharpness is pretty strong all the way through from 17mm to 50mm. I feel very confident with an aperture of f/2.8 as I do with the smaller apertures. It does take a bit getting used to the reversed zoom. Focus is a bit noisier than my Canon's, but it is NOT bad at all. I think anyone wanting a wide lens will like this, especially at the price. Yes, there is no IS and, yes, this is not a USM motor. Otherwise, it is a great lens. Enjoy!!!

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: May 12, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,060.00

 
Pros: I have to add that I did not send my lens back because the barrel is alledged to be plastic. I think if that was important to me, then I would have send back my Canon 30D for the same reason, since its housing covering the frame is plastic. I should probably send back my flash, as it is also made of plastic. This is a bit absurd in my book.
Cons:
None!

I felt that the previous poster's 7 is ridiculous and absurd. I guess it is not different that some folks hating the lens because it is an off color white. To me the optics, durability, and quality speak for the lens. I don't see people refusing a ventilator or heart valve transplant because there are plastic components to it. Perhaps, I am way off, and I apologize if that is the case.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: May 7, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,060.00

 
Pros: Wow... this is well built, solid, smooth to work with, crystal clear, tact sharp, and extremly fast at focusing. F/4 is a very workable aperture and I cannot say enough good things. The IS is out of this world adn r
Cons:
I only wish it was f/2.8 at this size, but that is not a negative. We cannot bend physics to make something it cannot be. I really like this lens and just wish I could get a 30D type camera with the high ISO setting of the new Mark III. Okay, I am rambling now. :-)

This is a superb lens that really is amazing. I have yet to discover everything, but I feel like I have to chime in right away. Get this one.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: May 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,060.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wow! The IS is out of this world. It does allow for phenominally slow shutter speeds. I had the 70-200mm f/4L USM lens and loved it. I recently sold my 3 primes to get this one. I am happy with my decision. The weather sealing is nice and build is great. The lens is tact sharp. I love having 1 lens to work with and not needing to change lenses.
Cons:
I think a tripod color could be included and the IS makes a bit more noise than the IS on my 24-105mm f/4L IS lens

If you are looking for a nice 70-200mm telezoom lens, then please consider this one. The IS is truly amazing and the build of the lens is superb. I have enjoyed the non-IS version, but this one is a step up. I am only beginning to use this. I did give up my wider aperture prime lenses to buy this one and still don't think I will be disappointed. I do have to use a high ISO and slow shutter speed to utilize this lens. I think I can use it indoors with okay lighting.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Apr 2, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,060.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wow and very usable for many family and requested scenarios. I really enjoy this lens, as it is crystal clear and a solid performer.
Cons:
Sticks out a bit (not a biggie), not weather resistent (would like it for the price), on 3 stop IS (would like the new 4 stop one... if possible)

I use it a lot and it works wonderfully. Crystal clear shots at all lengths. IS works wonderfully and allows for nice low light shots (of course, it is not as fast as the 24-70, but I normally shot slow moving performers in those lighting conditions).

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Mar 28, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Decent lens for what is paid, but that is about it.
Cons:
Cheap construction, loud, slow to focus, not so good bokeh, viginetting.



 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: Mar 28, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $95.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: A good price if you are broke... okay, if you are looking for a decent piece of glass at near rock bottom prices, then this is it.
Cons:
This is cheaply constructed, the bokeh is not that good (f/1.4 USM is much better), slow to focus, best results at f/2.2, loud, and I have noticed viginetting and flaring.

Well, I think I summed it up well already. It is nice for the price, but you get what you pay for. I think an investment in the next step would yield much better results.

 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Sep 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $740.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is a great and affordable "L" lens. Is there such a thing as an affordable "L" lens? In any case, when I can spend less than a $1000 for image quality this good, I think it is great. My shots are clear, focus is fast and quiet, relatively light for "L" quality, and at wide open it does perform a lot better than the 17-85mm EF-S IS USM I just sold. Yes, it is not a prime, but I am okay with that. It does not have great reach, but I am also okay with that.
Cons:
Could have better reach for the same price... oh that would be the 24-105mm, huh? I don't have any great complaints.

I have taken some great family shots with this thing. I really enjoy the quality for the price. It is solid and produces beautiful images when I seem to get everything put together correctly. I can't blame the lens for the problems with the photographer... :-) I have to admit, it does quite well at 17mm. I had the 17-85mm EF-S IS USM, and it was great; however, it did not does as well as this lens. Yes, I could get a prime and probably have the best shots in the world, but this is darn close for my budget. If you are willing to take the next step, then this is the lens for you. If you have money to blow and/or want the absolute best, then consider something a bit better. In any case, this is an almost perfect lens for the price!

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Aug 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $341.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very nice and clean images. The glass and focus are supurb. This is as close to L quality as possible in my book.
Cons:
A bit costly, but worth it.

This is simply a joy to use. I bought it because I am expecting twin boys very soon and wanted a good lens in low light. I think this will work quite nicely. Get it and enjoy!

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Apr 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build quality, very sharp, quiet and quick focus, and absolutely incredible price...
Cons:
For what I paid for an "L" quality piece of glass... none!

I am learning so much and it sure helps that I have a fine piece of glass. All I can say is wow! If you deciding between the 70-300mm IS USM or this one, ask yourself if you really need the 300mm with IS right away. If you can live without the IS (do you do most of your photography outdoors or in well lit areas?), get this one. You can buy the extender X1.4 to get to 280 reach which is wonderful!!!

 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Apr 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $560.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great range and nice lens for the price. Though certainly not an 'L' lens, it takes wonderful pictures with great auto focus and zoom capability. A good lens to have if you are on a budget!
Cons:
It really extends too far out (for the price, this is acceptable), no hood is included, and the lens tends to extend by itself if I let the camera and lens hand on my neck. IS function is loud, but I suppose that may be expected.

A solid lens and performer. If you are on a budget, then get this one. A really nice lens that takes solid and crisp shots. I wanted to keep it, but the 70-200mm f/4.0L was too much of a deal. If you need the 100 to 300mm capability, then this is the one for you!

 
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM

EF17-85
Review Date: Apr 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I love the IS and it seems to focus quickly. Crisp shots and good build quality for a non-L lens.
Cons:
No hood included for the price.

I have enjoyed this lens as my main lens. I cannot say enough about it. Yes, this is NOT an 'L' lens and people need to stop putting unrealistic expectations on a very nicely built lens. If you want 'L' quality, then stick with 'L' lenses. They are indeed superb and are worth the money when one can afford them. This lens was a compromise and I am not at all unhappy. The 5x ability works nicely for most of my needs. Yes, I will probably buy a longer telephoto for my son's activities and sports, but this one works very nicely! To sum up, it is a nice lens for the price with good build quality.