about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: richardho11  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add richardho11 to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: May 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build, 5fps, 1.6x, Image Quality, 3200 ISO, Price!
Cons:
None!

I also have a 5D, and that is why I gave a 1.6x as a positive aspect. I sold this camera a while back to fund for the 5D, but now I miss it and bought another one. This has got to be the best bang for the buck camera out there in the market. It is capable of delivering stunning, breathtaking Images at 5fps! The feel is good and the body is rock solid. Hands down, dollar for dollar, the 20D is simply unbeatable.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Apr 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $360.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, excellent price, creamy smooth bokeh, decently fast at f/2.8, good build, does not extend when zooming and excellent af speed.
Cons:
None that I can think of.

This is an excellent macro / porature lens! Its really ultra sharp and creates a creamy smooth bokeh at f/2.8. At $475 new, you really can't go wrong!! AF speed is decently quick, build feels nice and sturdy. I love how the barrel does not extend when zooming in, this way I won't scare all the little critters. All in all, this is one of the best bang for the buck lens I own! Highly Recommended!!!

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Apr 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast AF, f/2.8 and Great Build!
Cons:
Soft in the corners when wide open.

This lens is excellent for that ultra-wide, landscape lens on my 5D. Its super sharp in the middle wide-open, but soft on the corners. This is to be expected on a FF at 16mm so its not a problem for me. I have taken super sharp shots with this lens and I am very happy with it! Its one of my favorites!

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Mar 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, 1.2 aperture, unbelievable bokeh!!!!
Cons:
hunts forever in very dim lighting and cost.

I've had the 2nd version of this lens for a month and now it is the most used lens in my artillery! It was hard for me to dish out $1600 to purchase this lens because I am still an ametuer hobbist and still in school, but once you use this lens, you can see why it costs so much! Its TACK SHARP wide open!! The Bokeh is unbelievable... nothing like I have ever seen. I also have the 35L, 24-70L and the 50mm 1.4. But this 85L is king! It hunts forever in dim light but completely worth it to me for f/1.2. The focusing speed is very acceptable. I can tell its slower than my 35L but not too much slower. I highly recommend this lens!!!! Buy it if you can afford it!

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast 1.4 aperture, Light Weight, Tack Sharp at 2.4 and above, USM, Best Bang for the Buck Lens!
Cons:
Front element extends when zooming, "ok" quality because Im used to the "L" lenses, Surprisingly soft at 1.4 and starts getting sharper at 2.0 and tack sharp by 2.4.

This is the best bang for the buck lens in terms of sharpness! Its sharper than my 24-70L f/2.8 lens at f/1.4! Infact, my 24-70 does not catch up until about f/4. Not bad for a $300 lens compared to my $1,200 zoom lens! Otherwise, the build quality is "ok." I was however very surprised of how soft the images were taken at f/1.4! I was dissapointed with this finding. Although, this lens gets sharper by 2.0 and tack sharp by 2.8! Infact, its hard to beat this lens at 2.8 and up! Its EXTREMELY SHARP! Overall Its the best portait lens you can buy for the money. There is no other competition. I would not hessitate to recommend this lens to anyone. I wish I could use this lens at 1.4 because that is why I purchased a fast lens in the first place,but its quite soft. But this could also be due to the fact that the Depth of Field at 1.4 is so shallow that it blurs everything out unless you nail the focus.

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 400mm! Tack Sharp, Very nice build, Image Stabilization, Very Nice Colors and Super Fast USM!
Cons:
None

If your in need of reach, this is the absoulte best zoom lens that you can purchase! There is no other competition! The push pull zoom is nice and smooth, it has a very large range from 100-400mm. Its TACK SHARP! The focusing is fast and silent as well. I use this lens when I go to the zoo or ball games. At first I was using my 70-200L but found out quickly that it did not have enough reach, so I bought this big gun! I have no regrets and would not be hessitant to reccommend this lens to anyone! This is the best zoom lens in the range PERIOD!

 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Oct 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Its WIIIIIIDE!!! Its Tack Sharp, Nice Colors without PS, Light Weight and Fast USM!
Cons:
None!

This has got to be another one of my all time favorite lenses!! It has saved me so many times from taking the most beautiful shots that I wouldn't have gotten otherwise. I would most definitely NOT leave home without this lens!! You can never go wide enough. All of my landscape shots are just breathtaking when using this lens! Its sharp sharp sharp! This lens was said to be "L" quality in sharpness! But because it is an EF-S lens, they did not give it that name. I truly believe that. I also own a 35L, 24-70L, 70-200L and a 100-400L and this 10-22mm can most definitely hang with the best of them! Besides, if you want the best ultra wide there is no other competition in my opinion but the Canon 10-22! Sure you pay for it in price, but its worth every penny! Every photographer has to have one of these puppies in their bag!

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank, TACK SHARP, Nice colors, Internal Zoom, Fast USM!
Cons:
NONE!

This has got the be the sharpest zoom lens that I own!! Infact, this zoom lens is said to be as sharp as primes! I also own the 100-400L and the 24-70L zoom, but this 70-200 is definitely sharper! Nice colors and great build! I mainly bought this lens to shoot indoor sports, activities and shows and it does an outstanding job!!!! This lens is what I call a stellar lens! Its perfect in every way and everyone should have one of these in their bag. I also love the f/2.8 aperture! What can I say? If your looking for the absoulte best zoom in this range, you have no choice but to buy the Canon 70-200mm!

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tack Sharp, Beautiful contrasty colors without PS, Built Like a Tank, Super Fast and Quiet USM, Focuses extremely fast in low light, Weather Sealed and Large 2.8 aperture!
Cons:
None!

What can I say, for a zoom for this particular range, its one of the best!! My copy is TACK SHARP!! I also own the 50mm 1.4 and the 35 1.4L, but have no hessitation using this 24-70 when needed. Infact, its on my camera 80% of the time! It expensive, but I have no regrets purchasing this lens! I have no hessitation reccommending this lens to anyone that needs a zoom in this range, because when your in search of the absolute best this Canon 24-70L is your only choice.