about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: rbussmann  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rbussmann to your Buddy List
Canon EF 35-350mm f/3.5-5.6L USM

ef35_350_1_
Review Date: Apr 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great focal range, excellent color rendition, very compact for its focal range
Cons:
The zoom locking mechanism is a bit cumbersome, no IS

Great zoom for what is intended for. Color rendition is very nice. Always amazed about how compact this lens is. Pity that Canon did not maintain this range and add IS, rather than coming up with the 28-300. IS on this would be really nice. Zoom creep is an issue, and the locking mechanism is either too loose or too stiff.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Apr 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice zoom range, weight
Cons:
Image quality could be better, lens creep, color rendition not optimal

Great value lens, and good as walk around. Color rendition could be better. Image quality is good, but a bit soft at the long end (at least in my copy). Zoom creep is an issue after a while.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Apr 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, color rendition, weight
Cons:
No tripod ring included

Excellent image quality! I use this mostly on crop sensor (like the 70-300L better on full frame). Very light to carry around. Would be nice if Canon could include a tripod ring!

 
Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

3_5-5
Review Date: Apr 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Color rendition, size and weight
Cons:
Prone to flare, resolution at the long end could be a little better

Great allround zoom change for crop sensor. Wish sometimes I could get this range on full frame. The lens is certainly tough, but could have less plastic. Image quality is generally great, but on the wide end flare is a problem when shooting into the light, even with the hood.

 
Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM

EF8-15mmL
Review Date: Apr 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Image quality, size, built
Cons:
The hood is simply a pain

Great lens for fieldwork because it combines circular and 180 degree views. The hood is a mess- the cover easily falls off and leaves the front element exposed.

 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM

70-300mm
Review Date: Apr 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast and accurate zoom, image quality, color rendition, built like a tank
Cons:
No tripod ring, does not accept Canon converters

One of my most frequently used outdoor lenses on rough expeditions. Built quality is outstanding - this lens is really tough. Nice zoom range. The missing tripod ring is annoying, given the price. Excellent for what it is supposed to do. Less good for city environments / people (we work a lot in markets), because it naturally is rather visible.

 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM

ef70-300_45-56doisu
Review Date: Apr 13, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Zoom range, weight, compact build, inconspicuous = great travel lens
Cons:
Somewhat soft at 300mm, zoom creep, price

This is a great travel lens, although the image quality at full zoom could be a bit better, definitely not L grade, but very good. Bought one a few years ago used, and sold it again after a bunch of trips. Now bought a new one. The light weight, range and effective IS make this a great lens for expeditions when weight is a limiting factor, e.g. on long mule or canoe trips.

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS

24-70
Review Date: Apr 11, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact size, built, macro function, overall image quality
Cons:
None I have found so far, maybe price.

Got one of the first of these, and have used it on expeditions to Bolivia and Madagascar so far. This is really a compact lens that is easy to carry around in rough terrain, pretty light, and the built is great, weather- sealing works very well. For a me as a botanist the macro function is a plus. I don't do and lab tests w/lenses, so I can comment only on field experience. Image quality is very good, and yes, there is some focus creep, but that has never been an issue in real life for me.

 

Page:  1 · 2