about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: rbussmann  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rbussmann to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Mar 27, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Overall sharpness, excellent center sharpness wide open, built and color rendition, bokeh.
Cons:
Price, sensitive AF

One of my most frequently used lenses. Love color rendition and bokeh, not to speak about being built like a tank. gets lots of landscape and interior (interviews) work done under difficult environmental condition. Had one, sold it to try the smaller 24mm IS, but wasn't convinced. Tried also the Zeiss 25mm f2.0, which, although an excellent lens, lacks weather sealing. Just bought a 24 1.4 again.

 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM

EF14
Review Date: Mar 27, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, with great color rendition. Great built quality.
Cons:
Never like the design with a slide on lens cam and no chance to put filters on. Price.

This is really a great lens for architectural shots, unless you want to use a tilt-shift, although I use it mostly for landscapes. Fast and accurate AF, great color rendition. Superb built - have used one on expeditions for years without any problem, although I would like to see a design that would allow slim filters.

 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Dec 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $235.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good range on FF, relatively small, ok quality in good light.
Cons:
Zoom creep, soft borders wide open.

Good for the price. Makes for a nice walk around lens on FF.

 
Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 Planar T*

50mm
Review Date: Dec 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $725.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built, bokeh, color rendition.
Cons:
Lens cap, focus shift in some situations, contrast when wide open.

This is a great little lens when used right. The bokeh is simply fabulous. The center performance wide open is nice, but don't expect anything from the borders or you will be disappointed.

 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: Dec 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,117.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic color rendition, pretty small, nice bokeh, sharp!
Cons:
The lens cap, as in all zeiss lenses, is a joke.

Decided recently to buy one of these, after parting with my Canon 35mm 1.4. The Zeiss is fantastic - love the color rendition, and the size is great. Don't miss the 1.4, and don't miss the AF.

 
Canon EOS 60D

canon_60D
Review Date: Jul 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Weight, AF speed, color rendition, comparatively solid built
Cons:
Shutter noise

This is an excellent little backup camera, especially for the price. The built is pretty rugged - min has so far survived more than 2 years of expeditions all around the globe. The only thing I don't like is that the shutter is very loud. Otherwise this is really an underrated camera!

 
Zeiss 85mm f/1.4 Planar T*

85mm
Review Date: Jul 19, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic color rendition, IQ, built, compact.
Cons:
No weather sealing.

Starting to get hooked on Zeiss primes. The built quality is outstanding, and the lens has great IQ. Color rendition is excellent, provided you like warmer colors. The lack of AF is not a problem for me, nor is the focus shift of the lens in most cases. The focus shift is mostly an issue at close distance and f1.4, but if you know this it is easy enough to deal with.

 
Canon EOS 6D

canon6D
Review Date: Jul 11, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great IQ, very nice color rendition, weight.
Cons:
Not much. A 100% viewfinder would be nice, maybe better weather sealing.

Great camera when you don't have a lot of action. IQ is great. Wish the viewfinder had 100%. I use this one mostly for macro, and for market / city shots where my 5DIII feels to heavy, also as backup body. The build is great, but could have a little more weather sealing - when it gets really rough I use the 5D.


 
Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

3_5-5
Review Date: Jul 7, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Color rendition, built, weight, AF speed
Cons:
A bit soft at the long end

Great walk around lens, with excellent color rendition. Wish there would be a similar range for full frame! IQ is pretty good, albeit with a some border softness on the long end, and some field curvature. Prone to flare when shooting into the light, but not too much of a problem. All plastic, but still a tough piece of optics. Mine has survived years of expedition work, and still works flawlessly.

 
Canon EOS 5D Mark III

5DIIIs
Review Date: Jun 27, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast AF, ergonomics, built
Cons:
Not fully weather sealed

Best camera I have taken to the field so far. Tough built, although not 100% weather sealed - given the price one would think Canon would have done that! AF system and ergonomics so much better than my old MkII.

 
Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

50macro
Review Date: Jun 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Color rendition, IQ, built like a tank
Cons:
The lens cap is really a joke

I was always looking for a small macro for Canon FF. The old Canon 50mm is ok, but the built is not great, and the color rendition didn't do it for me. This one is my first Zeiss lens, and it is incredibly sharp and renders colors excellent. The f2 is a great plus. The manual focus is absolutely exact, and the focus throw is perfect for me. I am a Botanist, and am normally using a Canon 100mm L for macro, but when I don't do dedicated expedition-macro work this lens is perfect. Great to travel around with! The lens is much heavier for its size than one would think - really built like a tank. The lens cap is a joke however - immediately replaced it with a Canon cap.

 
Zeiss 18mm f/3.5 Distagon T*

18mm
Review Date: Jun 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,295.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, weight, color rendition, IQ.
Cons:
Maybe price, but you pay for what you get.

This is really an underrated lens. Yes, wide open the borders are said to be less sharp than in the 21mm. On the other hand the lens is really small, and ideal for travel. And it IS wide. Right now nothing in the Canon line-up comes even close. The built is stunning - makes you get addicted to Zeiss!

 
Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

image_copy
Review Date: May 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, built, weight, fast AF
Cons:
Hood could be better

Until recently I have been rather critical with Sigma lenses, especially the built quality and sharpness were often rather poor. Sigma seems to have made great progress in recent years. This is a great lens, built like a tank (just the hood could be a bit better), very sharp center wide open, corners can be a bit soft, but for main application this matters little. AF is very fast, and I have experiences very little hunting, even under difficult light conditions. Great price!

 
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM A1

sigma35
Review Date: May 12, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp, great build, silent and very fast AF
Cons:
Maybe that it is not weather-sealed, but neither is the Canon 35 L

An amazing lens, certainly the sharpest lens I have ever used. Had a Canon 35L at some point, buy was not happy with the corners. This is simply a fabulous lens, and very cheap for what it does.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Apr 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic lens, wonderful color rendition, tough built.
Cons:
A bit long for interior work in small spaces.

Exceptional lens if you have enough work space, great bokeh.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

ef10028lmisu_586x225
Review Date: Apr 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, sharp, color rendition, tough build
Cons:
None I can find

Best macro I have used in 25 years botanical exploration. Goes on every expedition. Color rendition and overall sharpness are excellent. Plastic construction makes it pretty light, but lens is still incredibly tough. Fast af makes it useful for non-macro work.

 

Page:  1 · 2  next