about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: racoll  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add racoll to your Buddy List
Canon EF-M 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_9_42_12_AM
Review Date: Mar 22, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $135.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, excellent image stabilization, very compact, good build quality
Cons:
I wish the IS could be turned on or off on the lens rather than going into the menu, longer focal length would be nice.

This is a wonderful lens on the EOS M that produces sharp pictures with great color. I think this lens easily outperforms the 18-55mm EF-S version. The autofocus is pretty quick with this lens and even though I wish this lens had a longer range (18-135mm, for example), it still makes a superb walk-around lens. It's lightweight but feels very well-built. If you've got an M, I highly recommend adding this to your kit if you haven't already.

 
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_
Review Date: Jun 27, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $135.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp (surprisingly so!), lightweight, excellent performance overall, excellent price considering how nicely this lens performs
Cons:
Rotating front element when focusing, plastic mount; those are the only negatives I can think of...

I initially bought a copy of this lens for my father to mount on his Rebel as he thought lenses like my L-zooms were ridiculously heavy and expensive. I played with it a little bit and was very surprised to see that I liked the sharpness from it as much as I did from my big zooms! Bird shots taken with the 55-250 were as sharp, and sometimes sharper, than those taken with my 100-400, and it even gave the 70-200/2.8 IS a good run! I decided to buy one of these for myself to use on my 7D when I want a lightweight lens and don't feel like lugging the big lenses around. It's a superb lens, especially considering the price, but the performance it offers is outstanding at any price. I wish the front element didn't rotate and I wish it had a metal mount, but those are the only annoyances I can find with this lens, and neither is a big deal. This is a wonderful surprise from Canon. It's a great lens. Period!

 
Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

3_5-5
Review Date: Dec 31, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, very sharp with beautiful color, IS works extremely well, the 35mm equivalent focal range of 24-136 is very, very useful!
Cons:
Pricey! Other than that, there is nothing that I don't like about this lens.

I have a 24-105L that I used on my 7D for quite some time, but I really wanted something wider so that I didn't have to keep switching to my 17-40L. I had read a lot of positive reviews about the 15-85 so I thought I'd give it a try. Since buying it, I have kept it on my 7D almost all of the time. I'm very impressed with this lens, and the sharpness is amazing as is the color rendition! Fortunately I have not had any problem with lens creep; my 24-105 creeps a little so it's not that big of a deal even it were to occur. I think this is an outstanding lens and it has replaced my 24-105 on my 7D as my "standard" lens. I wish it didn't cost quite so much, but that seems to be the trend with Canon lenses lately. I must say that after using it I don't regret one penny spent. I most highly recommend this lens!

 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Nov 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very accurate and very fast AF with many ways to configure it, superb build quality, excellent metering, much improved weather sealing, big viewfinder with all of the vital info, very customizable, wireless flash, beautiful image quality, dual processors!
Cons:
None, except that it took this long for it to become reality.

What more is there to say that hasn't already been said? This is the camera I've been waiting for from Canon for several years; I don't need the FF of the 5DII or the extreme functionality of the 1-series. The speed of the 7D's performance is amazing and the new AF, the main reason I bought the camera, is simply superb. To get the most out of this camera you have to really take the time to learn it because there is a lot of potential built into it and numerous ways to set the camera up for your individual style. For those who think it's an update to the xxD bodies, it's not. It's another class of Canon camera and the performance is on a different level as well. It isn't comparable to the 5DII or the 1DIII; those are different cameras that people buy for different reasons. This is a superb camera, one of my absolute favorite Canon bodies ever. I'm confident that I can handle any photographic situation with the 7D.

 
Tamron 17-35MM F/2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical (IF)

1735mm
Review Date: Aug 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quite sharp, nice color, great image quality, nice feel in spite of being all plastic, 2.8 at the wide end, seems worth much more than what it costs.
Cons:
More flare than what I'd like, AF slower than USM and noisier.

I bought this lens as a back-up to our 17-40L for the times my significant other and I both need a wide-angle (which isn't all that often), and because it's an inexpensive way to get 17mm at f/2.8 (the main reason) to use on low-light sky and landscape shots. I have been very pleasantly surprised to find that this particular copy doesn't give anything away in sharpness compared to the Canon, nor in color. It feels very solid and is smooth in operation thanks to the nice grip on the zoom ring. I do feel that the AF is noticeably slower than the 17-40 and quite a bit louder, but no more so than most AF lenses other than Canon. It also demonstrates more flare than the Canon when shooting with the sun in the frame, but not as much as you'd see with lesser quality lenses. I enjoy being able to shoot at lower ISOs in very low light or at night with the wide aperture. All in all, I'm quite impressed with this lens and find myself using it more than the others in my bag at the present. If you can get a good copy of this lens, it's a very nice one to have, especially at the prices its being sold for.

 
Tokina 24-200mm AT-X 242 AF

8232atx242af
Review Date: Feb 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $199.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid build and feel, relatively compact size, sharpness at most apertures and the 100-200 focal range
Cons:
some amount of softness below the 70mm range, noisy (compared to Canon USM) AF, not much else

I acquired this lens to use as an everyday lens for my trips to and from work, and because when I'm not shooting something requiring the use of L-series lenses this one is much more compact and a lot lighter than the 70-200 IS. It also negates the need to change lenses a lot and for casual walking around, this is priceless. My copy is a bit softer than my 28-135 below 70mm (although this is usually easily corrected in PS), but above that it's pretty impressive and sharper than the 28-135 (I have a good copy of the 28-135) at all apertures. Initially I was a bit concerned that this would be just another 'do everything' lens that gave up a lot in terms of quality, but this has proven to be a lens that I'm quite happy to use when I don't quite need my 17-40 or 70-200 IS for general walk-around shooting. I had the original Tamron 28-200 back in '95 and then the Tamron 28-300 in 2003 (or '04, I don't remember...) but both of these lense were quite underwhelming and soft. The 24-200 has proven to be a lens that I really enjoy as well as one that performs well. I would highly recommend this lens.

 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Dec 1, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,599.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very responsive, fast start-up/wake-up, 5 fps, much quicker and more accurate AF, low-light performance, low noise across entire ISO range, incredible review speed and write speed, pop-up flash is actually useful, great battery life, multi-controller
Cons:
Vertical grip feels too plasticky, no spot meter

I love this camera! Everything about it is fast and responsive, and I feel confident about using it for any situation. My 10D was a wonderful camera, but there were several areas I wanted Canon to make improvements in such as frame rate, flash performance, that eternal wake-up time (I missed a lot of bird shots waiting for it to wake up!), and AF accuracy. In the 20D Canon has addressed almost all of my wishes, with the exception of a spot-meter, which I only use maybe 20% of the time, but it would be nice to have it available. Some amount of weatherproofing would be good as well, and a more substantial vertical grip would be nice. I bought the kit as that was all there was available. The kit lens feels embarrassingly cheap, but what do you expect for a hundred bucks? These are the only shortcomings of the 20D IMHO. It gives me the same level of confidence that my 1V gives me; in fact it focuses quicker in low light than the 1V! The autofocus responds quickly, and locks on to subjects immediately, giving me a larger number of "keepers" than did my 10D. Coupled with E-TTLII the built-in flash works surprisingly well! This is the first built-in flash that I've ever enjoyed using. With the 580EX attached, the results are truly stunning, though I still have a lot to learn. The improved battery life is also impressive. Image quality is simply excellent. While an additional 2MP may not seem to make a lot of difference on the surface, it allows for cropping while retaining quality and adds detail to an already impressive image-making capability inherited from the 10D.
This is truly a superb camera. I initially wanted a 1DMKII, but it is really much more camera than what I would ever use or need. With the 20D Canon seems to have taken the best of the 10D, a lot of great features from the MKII and rolled them all into one amazing camera.