about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: poodlelvr  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add poodlelvr to your Buddy List
Bogen/Manfrotto 3021 Tripod Legs

product_83
Review Date: May 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Rock solid, easy to adjust, very inexpensive.
Cons:
Heavy....but sturdy!

This is the first good tripod I bought, and it remains my husband's favorite. This is the tripod that stays in the car, getting knocked around, always available. It is heavy but we don't hike with it, just take it out of the car and shoot. Well built, easy to adjust, never a problem. I highly recommend it, particularly considering the bargain price for a quality tripod. I doubt if we will ever wear it out.

 
Lowepro Lens Case 4


Review Date: May 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very protective, excellent size for my 70-200 f2.8 IS
Cons:

This lens case pretty much lives in my car - very protective and it always has one of my Canon white lens in it - I pretty much toss it in the car when I am off shooting which gives me that extra telephoto without filling up the daybag.

I probably should buy a couple more. Zippers high quality, protection very high, easy to remove lens...what else can I say about a lens case? Always use this one, never the Canon.


 
Lowepro Mini Trekker AW


Review Date: May 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The Mini Trekker AW is a compact size, carries a lot, comfortable straps, beautifully designed - the newer models a big upgrade. Wonderful for the price.
Cons:
None--

The Mini Trekker AW is a classic bag that's been around for a long, long time. Lowepro has updated the bag and the newest version is excellent. I actually owned this bag earlier and sold it. For a couple of years I have tried numerous bags to replace it as a general bag and failed. When I bought it again recently I was very pleased with the new features. The straps are more comfortable now, the bag itself just a bit more modern.

Lowepro puts out quality gear; the zippers are covered, they have strong pulls with cords attached for easy use; there are 2 zippered mesh pockets inside,the fabric is excellent quality, there are side tabs for adding pouches, the tripod holder is covered until needed and very well designed, lots of inside dividers, easily reconfigured...I really dont know how Lowepro could improve on this great bag without raising the price a LOT.


 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: May 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bokeh......gorgeous Sharp Comes with hood & nice padded, zippered case
Cons:
Don't like the exterior material of lens - not important compared to lens quality

After reading reviews I was hesitant to buy this Sigma lens but I am very pleased with my copy. I have owned the Canon 50 f1.4 and this lens is superior in my estimation. That bokeh alone is worth the increase in price; I am also pleased with the sharpness. The lens is not that big to me but definitely larger than the Canon. Much less CA than the Canon 50 1.4. No focus issues for me. It sits in my bag and is always with me. I would recommend this over the Canon.
Canon - Sigma includes the hood and a quality bag for this lens - why don't you?


 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Mar 14, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: A wonderful range; works with 1.4 TC well; outstanding color, outstanding for everything from eagles to flowers. I actually use this more often than the 70-200 f2.8 that I have. Highly recommend.
Cons:
big, white and somewhat heavy.

Bought this lens used awhile back; took awhile to get used to it but now that I have learned to use and appreciate it I must say that I almost always have it with me for everything from landscapes to wildlife. (Only birds I shoot are eagles--)

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Jan 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very fast AF, clear, crisp images, excellent color, great range. An outstanding lens
Cons:
Heavy for me - I need to use monopod at long end; I have shoulder problems. Big white color pretty obtrusive.

I bought this lens for a specific trip and expected to sell it. After a week of use it is here to stay. Although big, for most people it is well within handholding ability. When I extend it to 350 and above I need a monopod but have no complaints about that. Quite frankly I was astonished at the quality of images this lens produces. WIth minor sharpening they are outstanding. I expected to use primarily for zoo shots, marine mammals, etc, but instead this lens does anything I ask. Very reasonably priced for such a useful lens. I highly recommend it, and find I use a lot.

 
Markins Q-Ball M10

1817
Review Date: Sep 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, very smooth, locks in well. Beautiful piece of equipment that does exactly what it is supposed to. You won't regret buying this.
Cons:



 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Apr 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Stunning rich, deep color. Fast, sharp, my favorite lens.
Cons:
None

Although I primarily have L lens, when I bought my 5D I decided to try this lens. She stays on the camera 95% of the time. Another person who wishes she had bought this lens long ago; moving to primes on the basis of this lens alone. I also have 135L, which I love, but this is better. Just buy it.

 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Feb 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide.....color and contrast excellent
Cons:

This lens is surprisingly compact and light; I owned the 17-40 but sold it since I have the 17-55 and preferred the reach, etc. The 10-22 is comparable to the 17-40 in my opinion; color is outstanding. The lens is sharp and crisp; were it not ann EF-S I believe it would have rated L. This lens is the only way to get true wide angle on the crop camera and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Build quality is good and this will stay in my camera bag.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Feb 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Outstanding color and clarity; light weight makes easy to use. IS really works extremely well
Cons:
None. Except that this lens will make you really take a close look at your lens collection...

There isn't much to add that is not stated in other reviews; absolutely top quality lens. The color is outstanding, IS works well; sharp, sharp, sharp. Lent to my husband on an XTi body; he is an artist with NO photographic experience and he returned with several photos good enough to blow up to poster size.

 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM

ef70-300_45-56doisu
Review Date: Oct 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wonderful travel lens; useful range. Small & light in comparison to others and excellent quality photos.
Cons:
Lens does creep; I keep locked when not using and have learned to live with it. Not a big deal.

I find this to be a very useful lens to take when travelling; with current airline restrictions I pack this & my 17-55 and am pretty well covered. Recently flew across the country and used this to cover my granddaughter's soccer games as well as landscape photos. Handheld all and I came home with wonderful photos of the games, both action and coaching moments, taken both at mid-day and close to sunset. Photos are clear with excellent color; many would have been impossible with a smaller range. I paid full price when I bought this and have not regretted it although it did take me awhile to learn to use it properly.

The lens DOES want to creep and although a bit annoying it is not a big deal. Highly recommend this one.


 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Sep 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,059.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, excellent picture quality, Image Stabilization. A great walk-around lens
Cons:
Does not come with hood

I bought this lens I was hoping it wasn't a mistake - definitely not. A top quality lens well suited to my XTi & 30D, it lives on the XTi. While not light, it also is not too heavy and the quality of my photos is outstanding. Very sharp. The IS has saved me numerous times. I own several L Lens, including the 17-40 but I have to admit that I use this one
over the 17-40 - speed, extra reach and the IS make it worth the price difference. Canon got this one right.

Con: I think it's ridiculous that there is no hood included. I went online and bought a generic for for about $18 including shipping. Works just fine, thank you. Canon, I love your products but selling the hood separately is pretty darn cheap and it is not going to make you any extra $ as most of us will just go generic.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Apr 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding quality lens; sharp, sharp, sharp. Beautiful color. Excellent build quality
Cons:
None

This is an outstanding lens; my overall favorite. I use it on a 20D and 30D and am extremely satisfied with the quality of my images. The photos are sharp, sharp, sharp. The color is deep and satisfying. I only wish I could use it for everything but it is too long for much of what I do.
I also own the 70-200 f2.8 and I prefer this lens; rarely put the other on my camera, although it is more versatile. Buy it; if you are not happy with the quality of photos you have a bad copy.