about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: polizonte  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add polizonte to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 6D

canon6D
Review Date: Jan 22, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low weight, quiet shutter, reasonable price
Cons:
1/180 second flash synch

I wanted a lightweight, portable full frame DSLR without spending $3000. The 6D paired with the EF 100mm f/2.8 L IS is my close-up /nature photography combo when I do not need so many megapixels nor want to lug around a heavy camera; the shutter is very quiet, controls are basic, and the IQ in low light is very good. I also found that assigning the INFO button to activate the electronic level very handy.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Aug 21, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: resolution, color, dynamic range
Cons:
ergonomics, MLU,

This camera paired with the 135mm f2L, 35mm f1.4 L and 50mm f1.4 USM is amazing and at the current close-out price the 5D mkii is a bargain.
I do not take action photos so speed is no drawback for my photographic needs.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: May 22, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: $800.00

 
Pros: Fast focus, high contrast, brilliant colors, no distortion, great resolution.
Cons:
None

Years ago I used this lens on my former 40D and was amazed how different my images were compared to my 17-40mm L. This year, while on vacation in Medellín, Colombia, I used another EF 135mm f2 mounted on a 5Dmkii and I was amazed. Colombia. Wildlife shots, landscape, portraits - a perfect lens on full frame DSLR.

 
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S NIKKOR

product_01_copy
Review Date: Apr 25, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness, nice contrast, adequate focus speed, relatively low distortion, very well built
Cons:
price

The 35mm f1.4 AF-S G lens has replaced the 60mm f2.8 AF-S G as my walk around, normal lens, filling the focal length gap between my 14-24mm and 70-200mm Nikkors. Focus seems slightly slower than the other lenses in my arsenal but I do not take action photos. Being a bit expensive for my budget, a few of my other items had to be sold in order to purchase it.

 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: NIce LCD
Cons:

As a former Canon XTi and 40D owner, this review of the 50D is based on a used camera body, now a bargain at less than 1/2 its original selling price, even less than what I sold Canon 40D for a few years ago. Last year I tried another used 50D (selling for $150 more) l and found the noise too be very visible @ ISO 400 outside on a cloudy day. Now with firmware version 1.0.7 and ALR3 I have taken handheld shots at ISO 1600, AV mode, AWB, autofocus, with good results. I might be inclined to like the controls of this camera because it is not too unfamiliar having used Canons for a few years. It is not quite as ergonomic as my Nikon but it is still a nice, lightweight, second body. I prefer the 50D build over the Rebel series, except for the location of the on/off button; important features are the 1/250 flash synch, MF lens adjustment, and a very useable LCD (something the 40D lacked). As far as 50D vs 40D image quality, they are close enough for my needs - the newer model's improved ease of use is a major plus.

 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Jan 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great color, very low distortion considering the FOV
Cons:
Caught light reflections

Years ago I liked my old Nikon 28 f3.5 AI , Canon FD 24mm, and more recently a Canon EF 17-40 L but this lens was something else..I sold it.

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Jun 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent color and resolution, fast auto focus
Cons:
lens hood feels too tight

I love this lens for outdoor natural lighting photos with my 40D - very sharp, beautiful colors, and precise fast focus.

 
Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

efs60_28macro_usm
Review Date: Oct 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $388.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ultra sharp images, great colors, easy manual focus, size weight - good as general photography lens also.
Cons:
Only significant drawback: can't be used on FX camera bodies.

I opted for the 60mm to fill the gap between my 17-40mm & 135mm which it did nicely; the 60mm was such a good lens that I sold my EF 100mm USM macro with no regrets. This EFS lens worked well on my former 40D, 50D cameras.