about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: polizonte  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add polizonte to your Buddy List
Nikon D800

d800s
Review Date: Sep 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: impressive resolution, high flash sync shutter speed, overall ergonomics and control layout, mirror lock-up and exposure delay accessibility.
Cons:
none

I have used the D800 for a year now and I am still amazed at the resolution and shadow detail compared to my former Canon 5Dmkii and even Nikon D700.
The new camera feels a bit slower than the D700 but I do not take sports or action photos so for my city and landscape subjects the D800 is the best camera I have owned.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Aug 21, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: resolution, color, dynamic range
Cons:
ergonomics, MLU,

This camera paired with the 135mm f2L, 35mm f1.4 L and 50mm f1.4 USM is amazing and at the current close-out price the 5D mkii is a bargain.
I do not take action photos so speed is no drawback for my photographic needs.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: May 22, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: $800.00

 
Pros: Fast focus, high contrast, brilliant colors, no distortion, great resolution.
Cons:
None

Years ago I used this lens on my former 40D and was amazed how different my images were compared to my 17-40mm L. This year, while on vacation in Medellín, Colombia, I used another EF 135mm f2 mounted on a 5Dmkii and I was amazed. Colombia. Wildlife shots, landscape, portraits - a perfect lens on full frame DSLR.

 
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S NIKKOR

product_01_copy
Review Date: Apr 25, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness, nice contrast, adequate focus speed, relatively low distortion, very well built
Cons:
price

The 35mm f1.4 AF-S G lens has replaced the 60mm f2.8 AF-S G as my walk around, normal lens, filling the focal length gap between my 14-24mm and 70-200mm Nikkors. Focus seems slightly slower than the other lenses in my arsenal but I do not take action photos. Being a bit expensive for my budget, a few of my other items had to be sold in order to purchase it.

 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: NIce LCD
Cons:

As a former Canon XTi and 40D owner, this review of the 50D is based on a used camera body, now a bargain at less than 1/2 its original selling price, even less than what I sold Canon 40D for a few years ago. Last year I tried another used 50D (selling for $150 more) l and found the noise too be very visible @ ISO 400 outside on a cloudy day. Now with firmware version 1.0.7 and ALR3 I have taken handheld shots at ISO 1600, AV mode, AWB, autofocus, with good results. I might be inclined to like the controls of this camera because it is not too unfamiliar having used Canons for a few years. It is not quite as ergonomic as my Nikon but it is still a nice, lightweight, second body. I prefer the 50D build over the Rebel series, except for the location of the on/off button; important features are the 1/250 flash synch, MF lens adjustment, and a very useable LCD (something the 40D lacked). As far as 50D vs 40D image quality, they are close enough for my needs - the newer model's improved ease of use is a major plus.

 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Jan 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great color, very low distortion considering the FOV
Cons:
Unable to use with filters

Years ago I liked my old Nikon 28 f3.5 AI , Canon FD 24mm, and more recently a Canon EF 17-40 L but this lens is something else...

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Jun 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent color and resolution, fast auto focus
Cons:
lens hood feels too tight

I love this lens for outdoor natural lighting photos with my 40D - very sharp, beautiful colors, and precise fast focus.

 
Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

efs60_28macro_usm
Review Date: Oct 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $388.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ultra sharp images, great colors, easy manual focus, size weight - good as general photography lens also.
Cons:
Only significant drawback: can't be used on FX camera bodies.

I opted for the 60mm to fill the gap between my 17-40mm & 135mm which it did nicely; the 60mm was such a good lens that I sold my EF 100mm USM macro with no regrets. This EFS lens worked well on my former 40D, 50D cameras.

 
Nikon D40

d40
Review Date: Jul 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent viewfinder, good kit lens performance, number of shots per battery, high flash sync speed, price.
Cons:
Plastic lens mount but for the price, who cares?

This is the second digital camera that I bought for my wife; the first was a 5MP Koni-Minolta P&S. Years later after buying myself a DSLR, I found her P&S frustratingly slow and the lens at the wide setting not wide enough. Since she liked using the P&S optical viewfinder more than the LCD and was satisfied with the image quality, I imagined that she would find the more modern D40 to be a vast improvement. As I had thought, she is thrilled with the difference in speed, ease of use, and image quality and I am amazed at how well the 18-55 kit lens performs. At the current price, the D40 is less expensive than some advanced fixed mount digital cameras, has an excellent optical viewfinder and a kit lens with a wider angle than many P&S cameras.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Apr 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast precise focus, sharp, contrasty images
Cons:
NONE

Gives me the reach for distance shots and close focus capability for portraits - fast focus, very sharp, nice color and contrast; the combo of 135L & 17-40 L lenses meets my modest photographic needs.

 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Sep 26, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $679.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent colors and good detail when used w/my Rebel XTI
Cons:
None

It is impossible for me to compare this lens to my only other zoom lens, a used Nikkor 24-105D that I used with a Nikon N90 film camera. I didn't particularly like that lens for some reason; it was sharp w/some distortion but I sold it for exactly what it cost me. Mounted on the Rebel XTi the Canon 17-40L is my landscape/general photography lens and any distortion at the wide end does not concern me; for a reasonable price (compared to the 16-35 L), it is just what I needed to complement my Canon 100mm USM macro.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Sep 26, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $520.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice colors and very sharp when used w/Rebel XTi - I am amazed at the details revealed in handheld, available light, close-up shots of plants.
Cons:
Makes my zoom lens photos look not so sharp...



 
Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

300D-2
Review Date: Sep 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent color and detail at default settings, very quiet operation, feels very much like my former film SLR cameras.
Cons:
None so far

As a former owner of an all mechanical pre-N Canon F1 and auto-focus Nikon N90, who had been w/o a camera for 3 years, the Rebel XTi is my first digital camera and has exceded all expectations. (My only previous experience with digital had been with my wife's P&S Koni-Minolta) So far I have only used Windows Picture and Fax Viewer to look at Fine jpg. images of handheld shots taken @ full auto/default settings, auto & manual focus, close-ups and distance, sunlight and indoor w/flash, with a Canon 100mm USM macro lens (lens choice was based on opinions posted on this website) Body was purchased at Best Buy and lens at a local, family owned camera store the day we left to vacation in Maine so there wasn't any time to begin the learning curve; having dispensed with the kit lens, a wide angle prime or zoom lens is needed for scenics.