about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: photo1a  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add photo1a to your Buddy List
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Feb 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Sharp image, light weight
Cons:
Auto focus problems

I have used two copies of this lens over several years. Each copy eventually developed an auto focus problem. After a year or two of use, the lens would "hunt" and "chatter," never locking on focus, even in good light with high contrast subjects. The first lens I sent to Canon repair. The lens worked for about a year, then the same problem developed. Subsequently, I purchased a second copy of the lens. It worked for about two years, then the same problem developed. I did not drop or misuse either lens. I have not had a similar problem with any of the many other Canon lenses that I have.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Jan 16, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,123.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, durable
Cons:

I bought this lens in 2006, used it some, then put it aside because it did not fit my needs at the time. However, recently I "resurrected" the lens to use for sports photography with a 5DIII. This combination is very sharp. The lens locks on and focuses quickly. Color is good. It is a an ideal lens for intermediate range: shorter than a 500mm and longer than a 70-200.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Aug 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: I have had this lens for more than two years and have used it for macro, portrait and landscape. I use it more for portraits than I do for marcro, and am very happy with it. It is tack sharp and gives good color rendition.
Cons:
Noisy when focusing, slow to focus.

This is a good utility lens at 50mm. It is good for macro, although I get better results using other prime lenses with extension tubes. I use this lens more for portraits and landscapes. If you want to travel light, and 50mm works for you, this lens is versatile. It is very sharp and has good IQ. The build is OK, but not robust.

The drawbacks to the lens are its slow focus, and the inability to go from close focus to distance focus quickly. For example, if I focus on something very close, then want to focus on something at a distance, I must focus on some intermediate object -- typically my hand -- to get the lens "started" on the way to a distant focus. The lens is not quick focusing, so it would not be good for action pictures.

Overall, for stationary objects, I think that this is a very good lens for the price.


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jun 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good build quality.
Cons:
Not as sharp focusing as I expected it to be.

Update 1-16-2014: I sent the lens for cleaning and recalibration several month ago, and am very pleased with the lens. It is tack sharp and needs little sharpening in post processing. I am using the lens with a Canon 5DIII.

I got his for a general purpose lens. As an L lens,I expected it to be very sharp. However, it is nowhere as sharp as my 70-300 or 70-200 on the long end, and o better than my 17-85 on the short end. I sent it to the factory for calibration twice, but it still disappoints me. It focuses about like my 28-135.


 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Jun 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $680.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, sharp, good color. L quality pics, but not build.
Cons:
None. I'm happy with mine.

I really like my lens. It is sharp and has good color. Images compare favorably with my 70-200 2.8L and 24-105L. It is possible to get some interesting effects with this lens if you have some object positioned in the near foreground. It's a fun lens to use. It's light and easy to tote around as a second or third lens. A few pics at: http://fenwick.smugmug.com/gallery/1448801/1/72241530

 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: May 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Ergonmics better than the XT; seems to focus quickly; better range of ISO settings than the XT; ease of making settings (after some practice)
Cons:
Seems to have a slight problem handling bright day light, but I think this is a characteristic weekness of Canon consumer grade cameras. So, I have gone to bracketing.

I traded up from the XT. I like the size and build of the 30D -- it has a good feel to it, is easier to hold and balance is better with big lenses such as the 70-200 2.8IS. The dials take a little getting used to, but settings come easier and faster with practice. I like the view window and the larger LCD. However, the LCD makes all pictures look contrasty and bright, which might not be the case when I see them on my computer. Therefore, I'm not sure whether to retake a picture or not. I'm starting to pay more attention to histograms.

As noted in previous comments in this thread, the on/off switch is a little bizarre. According to Canon, an explanation for the two position on switch is, "If you were hiking with your camera but wanted the camera to stay on you would leave it set to the ON position so the dial on the back would not operate. If the camera brushed against you while set to ON, no settings will change. If the camera brushed against you while set to the position with the line, settings would change." Hmmmmm.

The 30D will be my main camera, but I'll probably use the XT when I want to travel light.