about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: phili1  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add phili1 to your Buddy List
Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

lens_1_
Review Date: Jul 12, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $399.00

 
Pros: Very Sharp/good focus/good feel/ easy to operate.
Cons:
A little noisy/sometimes hunts but not objectionable

For some reason my post did not appear.

I bought this lens for my portrait business and found it was a great Macro as well. I wanted a lens around 90 to 110 mm for facial distortion reduction. A lens smaller then 90mm has a tendency to make noses look longer. Anyway, I was interested in Canons 24 to 105 but in asking several pros, they thought it was a little soft. Sigmas 105 for some reason do not like canon cameras, so after reading reviews and seeing pictures I opted for the Tamron 90mm lens. My first pictures are sharper then my Canon 700 to 200L and my Tamron 28 to 75mm Lenses. My Macros as far as I am concerned are awsome ( althought I would prefer a Macro in the 150 to 180 range) and I am having fun with it.

If you want a good double duty lens this is the one.


 
Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

lens_1_
Review Date: Jul 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Sharp, easy to use, Solid feel, Easy switch from auto to manusl focus. No filter required as lens is recessed.
Cons:
A little noisy but not objectionable/ hunts once in a while other wise locks on.

I have been looking for a good portrait lens for my work and have used Canon's 70-200 and Tamrons 28 to 75 lenses, Tamrons winning in sharpness up close. I needed a lens around 90 to 110mm as they lessen feature exageration. I talked to and evaluated comments from some very good photographers about Canons 24 to 105 being a little soft, and Sigmas 105 not quiet up to par, so I was limited. I need a a Macro lens as well and would have prefered a 150 or 180, so I tried Tamrons 90mm F 2.8 DI Macro and was excited at the results I had gotten. Today I used it for my portraits and just down loaded the photos to light room to work on and found that they are very sharp and have reduced the exageration on noses and ears etc. It has performed like an L lens and I would recommend it to anyone. I have some macro shots on my web site that you can look at and in a week will post a portrait from it.

http://www.pbase.com/phili1/g3_macro&page=2


 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Nov 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,409.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp - Good weight & feel - Easy to zoom
Cons:
If it looses subject it will hunt, it is not really a negative but a learning process.

Well you hear allot about how great it is to use IS and you think that it is the end all to all other lenses and in my opinion it is not totally.

What I have found is that it takes practice to use it properly.you just can't get sharp right out of the box.

Hand held, depends on you as to how far down you can go. I found that I could hold it down to 1/60 at 400 MM today but tomarrow its hard to hold it at 1/250. Everyday is a new challange with it. I mostly can hold it at 1/250 at 400mm with good results.

Flying objects or fast moving dogs is a learning process. There are two factors to consider. 1 - auto focus 2 - IS mode. I am not sure what is the best modes to use yet. On the 29th I used 2 different set ups.

IS Mode 1 for stationary objects and single shot focus, made me mess up a moving duck shot, but most were right on .

IS Mode 1 and Servo sometimes has tendency to hunt, and I have found that it is good for objects coming toward or away from you but hard to use with left to right subjects. Why, because if you are panning and your center focus point leaves your subject it gets confused and can't find focus until you get on an object and this is hard because your viewfinder is a blur. The jury is still out on the new AI focus mode ( this is single shot until the subject moves and it goes servo)

IS Mode 2, the panning mode. This worked pretty well in the servo mode because by now I was learning how to cope somewhat. Out of 6 shots airborn I got two great and 1 good and 3 blurs. Here I found that Servo would loose the subject but if it came in to the view finder it focued on them again. What is the solution, I guess know your subject and how the fly, there pattern, Geese fly in a circle, Gulls do not know where they are going. Most big Birds have a direction. So I have picked the Gull as my practice bird. I figure if I can get good shots of them the other will be great.

Now if you think your going to buy an IS and get sharp shots all the time, it will not happen, you will even get blur at 1/1000 if you do not use it right. Will it get you better shots then a none Is lens, for the most but a friendt Alice defies that with the biggest and heaviest lens on the
market.(go alice) a Bigma 50-500.The only big lens I tried is the Tamron 200-500 and the Canon performs 1000 times better.

Now the push pull: I have read countless personal reviews about it and all I can say is I do not agree, It' fantastic, easy to use and if your out at 400mm and you have to change Mm you can in an instant go from 400 to 100. With the twist lens you have to go 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 turns depending on the lens.I hear about dust being blown on the sensor, I can't see that happening. If it could then the ellements would get dirty inside and it would cost use three tims the lens cost to clean it. If the dirt is in the mirror, it might blow it into the sensor but if you keep your camera clean, that can't happen.

Conclusion. It is an awsome lens that is only 1 1/2 inces longer them my 70-200 and is easy to hold, even for it's weight. It takes getting used to but with practice I think it will produce great results.

If you want to see pics go to the last five pics at this site.
http://www.pbase.com/phili1/animals&page=2


 
Tamron 17-35mm f2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical

sp-af17-35
Review Date: Nov 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness - Fast auto Focus - Built Well
Cons:
Wish it were slightly wider

Originally I purchased the Canon 10 to 22 mm lens and was unhappy with the sharpness. When I returned it the salesman recommened this lens.

I use it for Real Estate so 17 MM gave me what I need for the visual effect I need. I hear al;lot of people say they want it wider but I saw a Sigma 12 to 24 and he did a terst at 12mm and at 17mm and the difference was 2 feet on either side, so I think I can live with that.

Anyway, I had the opportunity to take pictures at a party and the pictures were so sharp people were in awe.

Here is a pic at 17mm at my site
http://mishuna.image.pbase.com/u33/phili1/medium/35932350.IMG_0395copy.jpg


 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Nov 3, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: $759.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: I can not find any
Cons:
Distortion, lack of sharpness, no lens hood. need slim filter.

I know there are other reviews that have a different opinion but I have to tell my experience.

I receivesd the lens and like I do all of my lenses I tested to see how good it is and I expected this to be good.

First I use wide angle for my Real Estate business so I need it perform really good, not great but good.

I took a picture of my den which is 16 x 20 with bounce flash and focused on the furtheist wall. My results at 10mm was that there was no distortion on the left side but on the right side wall lines and my coffee table went out of wack, a weired distortion. At 14 mm it was better but was bad on one side as well and at 22 mm it became normal.

Now I can live with 10 being that way but 14mm made it a not so great lens.

Now I went outside and took three pictures of my house 1 at 10mm 1 at 17mm and 1 at 22 mm. I stood 10 feet away from the siding and focused on it and got very unsharp pictures. I have to admit I was hand holding it so to give it the beniftit of the doubt this morning I tripod mounted it and got the same results unsharp pictures.

I posted the pictures on 1 web site and all comment were bring the lens back its unsharp and the distortion is very unusual.

So here are the pics I took you be the judge.

Mean while I bought the Tamron 17 to 35mm and it is sharper then the Canon.

Here is the link to the pictures.
http://www.pbase.com/phili1/10_to_22_mm_lens_test



 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Oct 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $559.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Fast auto focus/sits well in the hand/no increase in size when zooming/non rotating front lens/smooth manual focus/Large zoom and focus ring/easy to use AF-Man switch as well as quick focus set up
Cons:
Once in a while it hunts

I love the fact that it stays the same size when zooming from 70mm to 200mm.It takes practice to keep it movement free, but it gets better each time. the tripod mount is easy to use and is a snap to go from Horr to vertical. All switches are easy to adjust. The focus is so fast that it should be awsome for birds in flight. It will also make a good sport lens.

Anyway all I can say is it love at first use. I took ten pics with it and got ten good ones.

Here is one Mallard I shot today.

http://www.pbase.com/phili1/image/35031453


 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Sep 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast Focus - Good balance - Easy to use - Simplfied adjustments controls - Easy Review and Erase - 9 Point focus & Joy stick - AL fous and servo works better then my EOS system.
Cons:
Loud Mirror but like my old film NIkons.

When I bought this Camera all I had was my Sigma lenses and every picture I took was a complete blur. The Salesmen at B & H told me Canons are not known for sharpness. He did not know what he was talking about. If I listened to him I would have sent it back. I can't say enough about this Camera and I owned in the past a Hasselbld.

I put the Tamron 28 to 75 2.8 lens on and wow every photograph I take is awsome.

I did my own none tech test to see how it would stand up to 800 ISO and to see how parameters work, what difference.

Parameter 1 adjust saturation,sharpness & contrast automatically, Parameter 2 neutral and set 1-2-3 you can set your own for shooting situations. I found that parameter 2 is good the way it is and lets me adust in photo shop.

Hope this helps those on the edge of buying. Click next to see the two other parameters

click http://www.pbase.com/phili1/image/34336410


I have heard allot of comments about it's size. It's bigger then the Eos Elan system, same size as the Eos 7 and smaller then the 1Ds, but everything is smaller then the big guns.The balance and hand grip is better then anything I owned beforeee.

Buy It - But It you will love it.


 
Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 XR Di Zoom AF

28-75mm
Review Date: Sep 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $399.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, Easy to use, Fast,Good manual focus ring, best lens cap, close focus to with in 7 IN.
Cons:
So far I can't find any

I had received my Canon 20D and had problems with my current lenses and bad focusing. I thought it was the Camera because the Salesman at B & H told me so. I went to my local Camera store and he introduced me to the Tamron. I took a couple of pictures inside and outside and each one was better then the other. The print from a flyer in a store window from accross the street when magnified and was sharp.Any way when I got it home I did a test to see if it really was good.

The attched shots was to show how parameters worked on the Camera, you can see the nut residue on the container. Kind of hard to beat that sharpness. I am sold on Tamron.

When you get to the photo click next to see other parameters
Parameter 1 - 2 and set 1

http://www.pbase.com/phili1/image/34336410

Another shot with it's close focus ability. The two lines are water marks from breezebrowser.

http://www.pbase.com/image/34467160/medium